We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great kitchen- "secret location"”
Review of Wigi's Kitchen

Wigi's Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A little family run restaurant named after Louis, set in the heart of the popular Balluta Bay, overlooking the water as located just above street level. We offer FRESH ingredients, FRESH fish & FRESH meat steaks offering different ideas & recipes complimenting the daily change of the lunch & dinner menu. The aim is to make one's meal a memorable one every time one dines at Wigi's!
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great kitchen- "secret location"”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Up the stairs and there you have a view to the bay, if you get a table by the window. Visited for a lunch with friends. Good service - excellent menu and godd advise regarding the wines.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Helge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,255
    253
    56
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta,Malta
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great value for outstanding food...”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

it`s a small restaurant with limited menu...but of great quality...service was good although they where so busy...2 starters.2 fillets,1desert & 1 coffee plus 2 btls of wine & 1 btl of water all for 110e.....which was a great value for the quality of food that we ate. would return again soon..

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place can't go wrong”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

A friend suggested this place to take our parents for dinner, we were initially surprised at the the small menu-but after speaking to our waiter we were very much eager to try something different each. Great wine selection, attentive staff and extremely accommodating to requests. The food was cooked to perfection and delicious, our parents enjoyed the food very much and commented enthusiastically about it for the duration of their holiday.
We have since returned to Wigi's twice and received the same high level of service and on each occasion the menu was different-once my boyfriend had been the week before and enjoyed a sea bass ravioli-the following week we went again and this was not on the menu-though the waiter enquired about it and of course my boyfriend received the dish he wanted and tasted just as he remembered. We shared the Chauteauxbriand which was stunning!!!

The food is local and highly sourced, this I assume reflects in the weekly changes in the menu and we think one of our favourite restaurants in St Julians.

Helpful?
Thank leelee845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty Mediocre: Not bad but nothing special”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The food was pretty mediocre: it was not bad but nothing out of the ordinary. Selection of wines left a lot to be desired, whereas the value for money is poor and the ambience was nothing special. Its central location, on the other hand, makes it very accessible and convenient to reach from any part of the Island.

Helpful?
Thank Bernard82_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gharghur, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fresh fish in family run trattoria”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This restaurant offers excellent sea food dishes in a trattoria type, unpretentious atmosphere. It is located at first floor level and is easily missed from the road but well worth a visit. The service is friendly and the restaurant is family run. Watch your head if seated close to the windows!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OscarWilde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wigi's Kitchen also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Wigi's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing