We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tangalooma Island Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bribie Waterways Motel(Bribie Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
LaVida on Anzac(Redcliffe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Domain Stradbroke Resort(North Stradbroke Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Allure Stradbroke Resort(North Stradbroke Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
Reviews (2,861)
Filter reviews
2,861 results
Traveler rating
989
1,000
458
216
198
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
989
1,000
458
216
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolphin feedingfishbeach cafefamily holidaybeautiful placequad bikesgreat funsand tobogganingsand boardinggreat familyall agesbeautiful beachfood optionsstone restaurantkookaburra lodgedesert safariferry ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,230 - 2,235 of 2,861 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I loved it all! Although I thought everything like the shops and restaurants were very expensive! I loved our villa although it was a very long way to walk every time you want to go into the restaurants, there was no type of vehicle or 4WD to get there? The staff were really nice. We couldn't understand why the cafe was so close to bar especially if you had children. It was great and the beach was divine. I totally recommend it and will definitely come back

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ttssff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Director of Sales at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Ttssff,

Thank you for your post, and I’m glad to hear you plan to visit the resort again in the future.

The resort is spread over several hundred metres and most people enjoy the stroll along the beachfront when then wish to come for a meal or a drink. As you know the villas are equipped with a full kitchen should you choose to prepare you own meals and save the walk to the resort centre.

In many ways the above answers your comment on the proximity of the bar to the café also, they are close together so that our guests have these facilities within easy reach at meal times.

We will certainly pass on your comments on our staff, and we look forward to your next visit to Tangalooma.

Craig McLaurin
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

There are a lot of things to do at tangalooma and we enjoyed all the activities but they were quite pricey. It wouldn't be a cheap holiday especially for a family. The staff were great very friendly and helpful. Food was good but on the dear side. The rooms were ok but beds were terrible, hard and you could feel the springs through the mattresses. I ended up putting cushions from sofa bed onto single bed and sleeping like that. The grounds were beautiful beach gorgeous. The main reason we went there was because I wanted to feed the dolphins for my 60th birthday and I did, it was a truly amazing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaunagh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Manager at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Shaunagh S

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Glad to hear you enjoyed many of the activities including dolphin feeding, it is pretty special.

Thank you for your comments regarding our team and the service you received, we will be sure to pass this on to the management team.

Sorry to hear you thought your bed was uncomfortable. With out knowing which room you were in it is difficult to respond to this comment. We do encourage all guests to notify reception if there is anything we can help guests with to ensure their stay is as comfortable as possible.

If you have not done so already, please be sure to join our TangaClub and/or like us on Facebook, so you can stay up to date with news, specials and great competitions.

Kind regards

Tangalooma Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Bring the prices down. This is a second rate resort with very tired facilities. Fine for a cheap family holiday, but the rates for a basic room are way beyond "cheap family holiday". The facilities and room quality are equivalent to a caravan park, with the bare minimum of comfort and provisions, like the absolute cheapest bulk buy tea and coffee, and soap dispensers in the bathroom. They've got the punters over a barrel for every meal and service, so why charge such an huge rate for the rooms?

The prices that are charged in the resort shop are literally double normal supermarket prices. Be warned - do not count on 'picking up a few supplies' when you get there. Take everything you need with you. I suggest taking your own makings for breakfast and lunch if you can. The meals we had in the Beach Cafe were very average - overcooked spaghetti and sauce that must have been out of a tin. The greek salad was the best thing I ate, but for the price it should have been exquisite, rather than just edible. My nine year old son could not even eat the cheese burger, and he's not a fussy eater, I can assure you. How hard would it be to open a decent noodle and sushi bar, with fresh ingredients and reasonable prices? They must get daily deliveries - the mainland markets are only a couple of hours away.
After being so badly burnt at every meal we had to buy and having already paid so much for the room, we only took one tour, being the quad bikes. We had a lot of fun, and it was well-run. But again, they are simply charging too much. As for the much vaunted sand-tobogganing, we walked to the desert and found discarded tobogganing boards, and had essentially the same experience as the group of people there who had clearly paid for a Desert Tour. So the charge was for a lift to the desert in a 4WD, and a piece of masonite? I'm glad we skipped that one!
Look, I don't mean to be unkind. I think it's bad form to whinge about something that is unchangeable, or the best that can be expected. But they could do so much better.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Kangaroo building are all well positioned to enjoy the view of the sunset over the beach, though the higher floors are obviously better.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Heygeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Manager at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Heygeorgie

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

There are seven styles of accommodation, resort unit, resort suite, hotel room, deluxe hotel room, villas, luxury deep blue apartments and hill top houses. The houses we have recently included into our accommodation range are million dollar properties along with the outstanding ‘Deep Blue’ luxury apartments. We have recently finished a full refurbishment program on some of the older room types. We are unsure which accommodation you booked, but we do offer a range of accommodation to suit all tastes and budgets.

The food is a little more expensive than mainland prices, as we do incur extra costs to operate. We often do spot checks on food costs in other venues including other island resorts, entertainment establishments, food courts, airports and local cafes and restaurants and we do feel our prices are reasonable and inline with other operators.

We have over 80 tours and activities at the resort, with more than 40 free of charge. Some of our free activities include tennis, archery, squash, boules, croquet, chip and putt golf, beach cricket, volleyball and basketball.

With regards to your comments on the expense of activities, we believe that our prices are quite competitive. We just did a quick search on google and could not find a quad tour for under $90. Our quad bike tour is currently $58pp.

With regards to the desert safari tour. The boards left behind by others is quite disappointing. Moreton Island is a national park and on the Tangalooma Desert Safari Tour we take care in keeping the area clean and ensuring minimal impact on the environment. Our tour is currently only $38pa and $20pc, the tour is 1.5 hours and includes transfers to the desert, tour commentary and sand tobogganing.

We are glad you enjoyed your accommodation in Kookaburra Lodge and the amazing Moreton sunsets.

We do hope we can welcome you and your son back to Tangalooma in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Tangalooma Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We're in Brisbane for 2 months so decided on a Sat-Sunday weekend retreat. Our kids needed a break from the city and loved being outdoors and feeding the dolphins and the boat ride over and sun set was exciting. That was great. The rooms and good are just okay- dont expect luxury. Food is pricy. We did not do any tours- but spent some nice family time together. Worth a change of scenery and a sunset drink.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheehyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Director of Sales at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Sheehyc,

I’m very glad to read your family enjoyed your stay at the resort. Indeed Tangalooma is a place where it’s easy to simply relax and spend some quality time with your family so close to the city.

We do have a range of rooms available from 3.5 Star through to our 4.5 Star Deep Blue Apartments and million dollar Holiday Homes which offer a more luxurious option for our guests.

Thank you for your post, we would love to have you visit the resort again next time you are in Brisbane.

Craig McLaurin
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Went to Tangalooma Island resort for a full day trip as we booked deal with the full access to the resort facilites and VIP lounge.

Transfer was via ferry from Brisbane to Tangalooma which is about 75 mins ride. It is wonderful resort and has plenty of activities to do around. Some of the activites which we did and was included in the deal were, sand tobogganing, 4WD experience, quad bikes ride.

All are highly recommended and it is a good experience. Dolphin feeding is good too in the evening. Resort is good for family and kids.

I would stay at the resort next time when I'm there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rameez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Director of Sales at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Luxurious88,

It sounds like you had a great day with us on your Dolphin Adventure Day Tour. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit. I suggest you visit our website and join Tanga Club, our free loyalty program, which offers its members exclusive offers for visiting the resort.

Craig McLaurin
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews