We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit. Worth supporting.”

Margaret River Silk Road
Ranked #5 of 9 things to do in Metricup
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable visit. Worth supporting.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

One of those delightful chance discoveries. It follows a similar style to the wineries, breweries and olive farms set up in the area. It was fascinating to hear the story of how the business started and it's gradual progress and hopes for the future. It was obvious the pride and enthusiasm in the staff who were happy to answer any questions. We felt we understood all the stages of silk production. The products for sale from silk, and mulberry teas, jams, candles etc, were varied, attractively displayed and reasonably priced.
The weather was too wet to use the cafe but it looked very attractive.
It was heartening to see another business providing local employment and adding diversity to the tourism industry. Will definitely visit in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Informative trip”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We visited this place as we wanted to let our schooling children to learn how silkworms can produce silk since she has started learning life cycles in school. The staff was very helpful and she brought us to this corner where they cultivate silkworms to produce the silk, the children learn about the life cycles, saw the real cocoon, and understand the process in making the silk. The end products, the colourful silks were beautiful too. They also grow mulberries and make them into jams, the taste was good and we bought a bottle back. It is worth a visit especially if you have young schooling children.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What amazing Discovery We Had”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had the most amazing lunch at the silk road Mulberry Cafe..oh food was to die for, the ploughman platter was one of the most beautiful lunches I have ever had. The Mulberry chutney was delicious, the service the best.
A very interesting shop with the silk products as well as the Mulberry products, interesting learning about the tea benefits, loved it all so much had to buy the produce as well.
All the best with the cafe, it can only go forward, we will be telling people about the divine food and the gorgeous Mulberry Cheesecake , shall be back to this cafe on the next trip to Dunsborough. The hot chocolate drink was so very beautiful too, enjoyed the whole experience !!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laceysholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Brilliantly interesting”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have visited this place three times this year so far and every time it has got better and better. They farm silk sustainably and send their silk to Cambodia to be processed through a program set up by the UN to help the Cambodians get back to their main industry after the attrocities in that country that saw a whole generation exterminated. The couple who own and run this place are absolutely incredible, and apart from wanting to make a living for themselves and their employees in WA, are supporting the re-emergence of the silk industry in Cambodia. They give very informative tours of the farm and explain what is happening every inch of the way. They also have an area where you can watch a 10-15 min DVD about how Cambodia is expanding their silk manufacturing. Well worth taking the time to watch this too. The produce on sale is very impressive from silk scarves to handbags, jewellery rolls, hats, clothes... and it is all extremely well priced. My collection of silk scarves grows each time I visit. They also sell byproducts from the Mulberries they grow to feed the silk worms. Love the jam, and now they do tea but not tried that yet. Since my last visit they have now opened a cafe which serves a decent coffee and snacks. Top of the attractions though has to go to Red Dog, who is their pet, the most well behaved and trained woofer, and who is always around with his Mum and Dad in the shop. Love the way he sits on the the chair near the till. Totally recommend this place for the educational factor, but you will be blown away by the produce they sell.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank karinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Visited this on the way to Margaret River and glad we did. Welcomed by two charming pooches who ran out to meet us.. Presenter was friendly and really interesting, taking us through the stages of silk production. We liked that the silk products are made by ethical means, rather than sweatshop labour. Prices were very reasonable and the products are beautiful. It's two mins off the highway - worth the detour. Lovely business. Recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Currambiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret River Silk Road also viewed

Metricup, Margaret River Region
Metricup, Margaret River Region
 
Metricup, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Margaret River Silk Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing