We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't believe my eyes...so. much. chocolate.”

Margaret River Chocolate Company
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$72.96*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Swan Valley Food and Wine Trail
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Metricup
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: At The Margaret River Chocolate Company we're mad about chocolate! With factories in both the Margaret River and Swan Valley wine regions of Western Australia and a concept store in Perth City, we have been making award-winning chocolate products since 1999. All three sites provide a fascinating insight into the world of chocolate, with free chocolate tastings and interactive displays, with the two factories also providing viewing windows to watch the chocolate products being made. The Margaret River Chocolate Company makes and sells a mouth-watering range of chocolate bars, chocolate coated delights, hand made truffles, novelty chocolates, chocolate sauces and much more. Both chocolate factories are open from 9am-5pm every day of the year except Christmas Day, while trading hours at the Perth City store mirror those of other city-based retailers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Couldn't believe my eyes...so. much. chocolate.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

A chocolate lovers heaven. They stock every sort of chocolate you could imagine. Perfect place to get a chocolate loving friend a present which is unique. Really friendly employees. Highly recommend the Hand-made truffles, delish!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maddie602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    228
    116
    26
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Renmark, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Professional experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Our bus group from SA found the produce on display very delicious. Chocolate casts a mesmerising spell over the many who consume it and today was no exception. Our group made many purchases at the store from the friendly staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonyT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great change-up for kids!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The chocolate was delicious, but for the most part, if you've been to one chocolate factory, you've been to them all. For instance, your ability to see the chocolate made or to interact was quite limited compared to the factory on Phillip Island that we had previously been to. That said, when you've got children and you're carting them around wineries, this makes for a great stop to keep them interested! The hot chocolate is fantastic, they have great local ice cream, and there are plenty of treats to keep most anyone satisfied.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Popular but expensive.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Chocolates and other products for sale are very expensive. The free chocolate tasting is the attraction but unfortunately not hygienic. Foods offered in the cafe are also expensive and the staff are not overly friendly. They do their job but offer nothing more. We tried the chocolate fondue for 2 at $13.95 which was very disappointing. Far more chocolate than was required for the small amount of items for dipping - Mashmallows, biscotti, 2 pieces of nougat & liquorice. Strawberries or fruit would have been nice. I doubt we will rush back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Middydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great chocolate but average coffee/cafe”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Always a favourite with the kids when visiting the Margaret River area, they are always so impressed with the MR Chocolate Factory and as it was school holidays so was everyone else! We spent a few minutes looking through the array of chocolate but I headed back to the counter to buy the old favourites the peanut and almond clusters (the husband also purchased a bar of sea salted caramel chocolate), before I hurried everyone over to find a seat in the busy cafe. The kids always enjoy looking through the chocolate window watching the workers while we wait for hot drinks. Overall the coffee was average and the kids enjoyed their milkshakes but I am surprised that they still don't offer free wifi considering they have such a huge factory outlet, so after the kids had a run around outside in the open area and we finished our coffee we were ready to head off again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PolyFamilyOfFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret River Chocolate Company also viewed

Metricup, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Metricup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Margaret River Chocolate Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing