We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eight Willows Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a beautiful setting for a relaxing break.
The property is very well presented with the option of chalets with a lake or forest view. The chalets are well spread out offering privacy & making this feel like home from home.
They have thought of everything - the kitchen is well stocked and the 'mini bar' includes yummy, well priced local goodies. The complimentary wine was a welcome touch, as was the luxury selection of toiletries. The beds are really comfy - had the best night's sleep!
We enjoyed an action packed weekend of cycling, running, climbing and drinking......the Willy Bay Resort is very well located to make the most of the Margaret River region, and heaven to come back to at the end of the day to relax by the fire and soak in the spa. A nice change from camping!
Keith was very helpful, friendly and accommodating.
This would be an awesome venue for a wedding!
Highly recommend a visit. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margueritelovegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Eight Willows Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 209 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

I booked three nights at the Willy Bay Resort to celebrate my boyfriends 30th birthday. When looking for somewhere to stay I had two criteria, luxery self catering accomadation in a natural settling. Well Willy Bay certainly ticked both of those boxes (and more). It was awesome. We stayed in Chalet 7 with panoramic views over the lake and vines. Breathtaking. For three days we didn't see or hear another person while at the resort. You are in the heart of beautiful bushland.We spent most nights in front of the log effect gas fire with a nice bottle of red.

The chalet it self was beaufifully decorated with all mod cons. The chalet was spotless and everything was well maintained. Comfortable beds and crisp white linen.The hosts have made life easy by providing tea, coffee, cling film etc. As Metricup is about 20 mins from Margaret River I would recommend stocking up on breakfast bits etc before you arrive.

We will definitly be back should we get the chance to visit the South West again!

Room Tip: Chalet 7 has panoramic views of the lake. Breathtaking!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank space_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I went here for a weekend away last Friday. We stayed in the forest view chalet and had a bottle of wine waiting our arrival. Inside and out the chalet was spotless. Everything was provided to make the chalet self sufficient no need to bring anything. There was also a fold out couch just in case you want more people. Everything was new and stylish, nothing was worn or dated. Inside there is a wide screen tv with foxtel. We spent a couple of nights with the fireplace going watching movies. They chalet also had reverse cycle aircon system which assisted with the extra chilly nights we were there. The chalet looked out over forest views and there was more than a few kangaroos.

On short notice I was able to bring up some fairy lights, candles, roses and Keith and Michelle helped me to plan a proposal. After a delicious dinner in town we walked into music, champagne and a fairy light pathway with roses, candles, hot spa and a message in rose petals asking my fiancée to marry me. Perfect! Thanks so much to the staff at Wily bay in setting up the surprise. They went above and beyond in helping make our stay perfect.

Wily bay resort is 15 minutes from Margaret River. It is smack bang in the middle of wine central and 5 minutes from numerous places to eat including Flutes and Vasse Felix. If you get the chance go to both. As well as Winos in Margaret River.

After 5/6pm the lights around the lake light up and the still water reflects their orange glow guiding you in and out of the resort. There is also an adorable little gazebo that looks better in person than on their site.

All up we had a blast staying at at the Willy Bay Resort and will be going back again. Hopefully once they have their expanded facilities for a wedding ;-)

Room Tip: Forest view has a giant spa. We spent both nights relaxing, drinking wine and watching movies. You m...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThisGuy341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Not much to say as everything was perfect. Anything you could possibly think of was taken care of for you. The staff were friendly, helpful and very informative. The rooms were immaculate and beautifully furnished. The one tiny issue we had with the tv was rectified immediately and again the service was superb. Set in a great location, just a short drive to Margaret River with plenty of winery's and attractions nearby I will definatly be staying there again and I will definatly recommend Willy Bay Resort to anyone I meet.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We went to willy bay not to long ago and we feel in love as soon as we got there . Set amongest nature are beautiful cottages . They are fully equipt which makes it a home away from home, dish washer , dryer and washing machine even salt pepper and cling wrap those small things that make a big difference . The staff are welcoming and can't do enough to make your stay as comfortable as possible . Close to town and wineries just tops this pfect locations off . I suggest to anybody heading down south to stay at the Willy bay resort. Grab a bottle of red start the fire and just relax over looking the beautiful view of what really gives down south it's feel . Cheers !

Room Tip: Depending on what sort of style you like but I loved the chalet. Had over looking the magic of the l...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Me and my Partner really enjoyed our stay at Willy Bay, The 3 night winter special offer was really attractive and hard to resist the chalet that we stayed at was amply stocked. On a whole I would give it 9 out 10. The only reason for not giving it a full 10 is the lack of "spare bath mats" especially for someone staying 3 nights. THE two mats (thin towels) that we were given were not enough to last our entire stay as the shower area didn't have a good seal and water would drip out resulting in a completely wet mat after someone took shower. Which might have not been a problem had it been sunny but with the amount of rain and storms during our stay, drying stuff wasn't really an option. Keith, maybe a few extra mats eh and maybe even a small toothpaste while you are at it :) I don’t know I just like a dry bathroom maybe I am weird ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOGla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Despite the nondescript exterior of the chalet, the interior is very spacious and very well furnished and equipped for a holiday stay. We really feel at home.

They have even paid attention to the need of short term stay customers by providing salt, pepper, cling wrap, aluminium foil in the kitchen knowing that it would not be practical for customers who wanted to do some simple cooking or BBQ at the chalet to purchase all these items and just use them once. It would have been excellent if they could have included a small bottle of cooking oil in their provision to complete the list of basic kitchen necessity. We also appreciated the fact that they provided instant hot chocolate and green tea, beyond the usual breakfast tea bags and instant coffee.

The resort managers Keith and Michelle were also extremely helpful. They even offered to help us secured reservations at restaurants in Margaret River prior to our arrival which really helped as most of the restaurants only respond to reservations via phone and not email. My daughters have said that it is her most preferred hotel amongst all the hotel we have stayed at in Perth on our week long trip. We will definitely recommend this resort to friends and family who are visiting Margaret River.

Room Tip: We had room chalet 5 which although faces the lake, only has a view of a small section of the lake...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metricup
16.2 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
13.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
705 reviews
9.8 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
227 reviews
9.1 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
156 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#7 of 51 in Margaret River
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Willows Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Willows Retreat

Address: 266 Metricup Rd, Metricup, Western Australia 6280, Australia (Formerly Willy Bay Resort Margaret River)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Metricup
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Metricup
Price Range: $165 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eight Willows Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight Willows Retreat is a AAA rated 4.5 Star (self-catering) luxury retreat set amidst 30 hectares (75 acres) of beautiful natural bush and parkland. With our chalets offering lake, vineyard and forest views, the property is situated beside thousands of hectares of state forest. Located centrally to Margaret River, Busselton and Dunsborough, in the heart of the world renowned Margaret River Wine Region, Eight Willows Retreat is surrounded by world class wineries and local producers of gourmet delights. The retreat offers a total of 24 chalets - ten 2-bedroom rammed-earth chalets, twelve beautifully appointed 1-bedroom studio chalets and two 2-bedroom chalets, spaciously designed to suit your whole family. All chalets are fully equipped with: - Gourmet European-styled kitchen including: stone bench tops, large refrigerator, microwave, kettle, toaster and Miele electric oven, gas stove top and dishwasher - travertine marble flooring in bathrooms, lounge and kitchen - wide screen high-definition LCD TV with complimentary Foxtel and free view channels - reverse cycle air conditioning - personal outdoor barbecue on private deck - linen and towels provided. As Eight Willows Retreat is located in a rural setting with a focus on premium self-catering accommodation, there is no room service or telephones located within the chalets. Free Wifi is available to all guests. Pets are not permitted. PLEASE NOTE: WE HAVE A MINIMUM STAY POLICY OF 4 NIGHTS FOR EASTER AND BETWEEN 20th DECEMBER and 6th JANUARY. WE HAVE A MINIMUM STAY POLICY OF 3 NIGHTS FOR LONG WEEKENDS and PUBLIC HOLIDAYS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Eight Willows Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing