We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hbh at Island Brook chalets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Brook Estate
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroomed chalet - Semillion. There are only 3 chalets, all in the Forrest and each private. Excellant amenities and clean. Great location for visiting Margaret River and Cape Naturiste areas. Wine is superb! Unfortunately we did not have and kangaroos visit us. Evan the host owner was very helpful. Only criticism was there was local road noise from about 4am but we got used to that, and it could be improved by adding a second bathroom or at least a second or separate toilet. The chairs on the verander were a little uncomfortable.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank HBHRobina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanHaywood, Manager at Island Brook Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi Robina,
Thank you for your review, and my apologies on behalf of the kangaroos :)
I apologise for the early morning road noise, it is an annual occurrence every February. It comes from the trucks delivering grapes to the winery's. White grapes need to be harvested in the cool of the morning hence all the activity on the roads. It is much quieter now.
I will look into the chairs.
Hope to see you again sometime.
Warm regards,
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Spent two nights on Xmas in the forest, a secluded and relaxing stay overall. Two bedroom in the chalet that can accomodate 5 people at most; Adequate kitchen tools, and good-sized bathroom (sadly the SPA did not work).

The most enjoyable part is breakfast outside the chalet, watching the forest with fresh gentle breeze passing by. BBQ machine is on the patio as well.

Evan is warm hearted and went out of way to send Iphone charger to our chalet. It is also a pleasure chatting with him on the vineyard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanHaywood, Manager at Island Brook Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Hi Richard,
thank you for you review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm looking into the spa issue, and my apologies for it not working for you.
Regards,
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Really enjoyed the 4 days we had in Chardonnay chalet on island brooke estate. Very private in amongst the jarrah trees. Evan was very accommodating - we had an issue with the water heater (Califont ) and within a few hours a new one was up and running. Evan was very helpful with local tips and recommendations. Went looking for the Roos in the nearby field with camera in hand, went I got back to the chalet on dusk, turns out the Roos had been on the front lawn of the chalet !much to the amusement of our group who decided not to follow me :-)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank nz_business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanHaywood, Manager at Island Brook Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thanks for the review :)
Glad to be of service :)
Cheers,
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with 3 adults in 2 bed chalet. Rooms were neat, modern and well kept. All in all very comfortable and a beautiful setting amongst the Jarrah scrub. Especially enjoyed seeing kangaroos hopping by right outside the chalet. Owners were friendly and very accommodating. Would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fois_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

At night I realized that the forest was full of moonlight. Being a city girl, I had not seen moonlight--without city lights for a long, long time. This place is rustic, charming, and wonderful. We stayed for two nights and I did not want to leave.

The kitchen has all you need to cook meals, prepare coffee or tea, and there is a grill on the patio. There is great privacy. The spa is great. Evan gave us great tips for seeing the area. I would return. Hope to return.

Room Tip: All three are great choices. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladywhotravels010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the 1 Bedroom Cabernet Chalet for 2 nights over the September Long weekend.
A lovely little secluded & romantic place, 1 of 3 chalets and if you look carefully you can just spot the other 2 chalets away through the bush.
Nice, clean & comfortable self contained chalet in a bush setting. Open plan with everything you need. Reverse cycle aircon, DVD, TV, stereo, Microwave, cooktop, toaster oven, fridge, small BBQ on the patio & best of all a lovely spa in the bathroom! (and yes there was a 'ring' around the waterline after we had finished, but we have noticed a similar 'ring' at every place we have stayed with a spa...)
Fancy a local drop? Evan & the rest of the team were friendly & helpful and more than happy to give us tastings & as guests we received a 10% discount on our purchases. Theo the friendly Weimaraner was also happy to show us his ball fetching skills & he loves a pat! Bindi the little dog was a bit more stand offish...
It may be about 20mins north of Margret river town itself, but don't let that bother you. There is plenty to see and do if you don't mind a short drive. If you fancy a cooked brekkie, but don't want to cook there are a couple of places less than 10mins drive from the front entrance.
We took a Bush Tucker Wine & brewery tour and they picked us up at the cellar door, which co-incidentally was the first stop of the tour!
We would highly recommend this place to stay to anyone who likes the sound of the above, we can't say for sure that we will be back because there is so many other places to see and experience in the south west & we always like to try new things, after hours of agonising & reading reviews on TA! BUT if we had to make a snap decision on where to stay at short notice, this place would be a 'no brainer' to visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unifex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Sometimes you find a spot that you wished no one knew about just so it remained that secret location you could always keep for yourself. Island Brook Estate is such a place. Three chalets set amongst forest far enough apart to be lost amongst the trees. Waking in the morning to kangaroos bounding around your chalet, birdsong coming from everywhere, is a rare delight. Our chalet was called Chardonnay. Well appointed with everything you need for a self-contained vacation. Just add food. Friendly and helpful hosts. Add a spa with the option to open the windows onto bushland. Comfortable beds. Not much to complain about here and what there is ... well ... you'd have to be extremely picky to have any. All the major Margaret River wineries and attractions close at hand with the Estate located on the main highway.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metricup
2.9 mi away
Eight Willows Retreat
Eight Willows Retreat
#1 of 2 in Metricup
216 reviews
7.4 mi away
Wildwood Valley
Wildwood Valley
#1 of 12 in Yallingup
283 reviews
3.2 mi away
Erravilla Country Estate
Erravilla Country Estate
#9 of 12 in Yallingup
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#6 of 51 in Margaret River
135 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Island Brook Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Brook Estate

Address: 7388 Bussell Hwy, Metricup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Metricup
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Metricup
Price Range: $148 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Brook Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Brook Estate is a family owned and operated vineyard and accommodation provider. Our three chalets located to the rear of the vineyard, are surrounded by Jarrah forest, kangaroo, and other flora and fauna. Central location in the Margaret River wine region. All chalets have contemporary quality interiors are fully furnished with flat screen TV, queen size beds, double spa, private BBQ and free WiFi. The ideal quiet get-away for family or couples. Our cellar door is open for wine tasting and sales 10am - 5pm, 7 days. (Occasionally the cellar is closed for some quality family time) 4 star rated accommodation (AAA) 4.5 star winery rating (James Halliday) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Island Brook Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing