We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Formosa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$47
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $36/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$47
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allium Batam Hotel(Nagoya)
$39
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$30
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel(Nagoya)(Great Value!)
$52
$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Biz Hotel(Nagoya)
$25
$22
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
7
33
42
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
33
42
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnagoya hill shopping mallolder hotelbatam centrehotel lobbyfront officeharbour baykaraokeinspectioncounter
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 99 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

A 2 days 1 night stay on the 16th July with my partner, & we were kind of disappointed with the view of the hotel from the outside. When we reached our destination, I thought the whole place, including the lobby, was almost totally different from the picture we were shown. When we first entered the room, the smell of ciggarette was so strong. Thank God the package we took up was cheap. Furthermore, Nagoya Hills shopping Mall is just 5 mins away via foot.

The inside of the hotel room was huge though, for just the two of us. It's got a living area, a dressing area, and wifi speed was good. Tv was a bit off because there was something wrong with the cable/source at that time. I'm not sure which. There was no window overlooking ANYthing other than the brick wall of the opposite building. That was the downside for us. Unfortunately, it wasn't the only negative thing. When we woke up for our buffet breakfast the next morning, I found a dead cockroach outside the toilet. When I tested the water, the showerhead wasn't working, so we could only take a bath. And a short one at that.

Food was lovely, nonetheless. Watching tv while devouring the authentic meals prepared for the start of the day cheered us up from the morning's episode.

During checkout, the lady who attended to us was okay I guess. She didn't smile like she meant it, and as guests, we can tell. Her service was of average standard, not one which could make someone's day. There is room for so much improvement, I can say.

I've stayed in other places in Batam before this, and I gotta say there are places much better and worth it than this.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank filzah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here July 16 for 3 nights on a business.The hotel is near to the centre with the large shopping centre just a 20 mins walk.
Rooms are large with wifi and cleaned every day with change of towels. Hotel Bar Restaurant has a wide seection of Indonesian, chineese, indian and western food. Very cheap too. KTV Bar on the top floor if thats your scene.
Very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: From 3rd and 4th floors
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed 1 night over at this hotel.

Staff service was excellent.

Bell man helped us in fetching a good price for taxi.

Breakfast buffet was average. But the soya milk was pretty nice.

Toilet was ok but got a hard time trying to figure out how to flush the toilet bowl.. well, at least there is water heater.. so after all, not so bad..

Room was ok and big.

Location was good. Very near to the Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall.

Overall I have a enjoyable night at the hotel but bad experience with the ferry as I nearly can't go home due to full seating. Just a piece of advice for those planning to go batam, try to take those ferry that you tried before and not others. Also try to reserve an advance return tickets upon reaching instead of waiting till that day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZQE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Old hotel somewhat retrofitted. 5 minute walk from Nagoya Shopping Mall. 15 minute taxi ride from Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal (Average IDR40,000). Ciggie smell quite strong. They got our phone booking mixed up but fortunately managed to remedy it. Spacious room, choice of two single beds or one king bed. Dismayed to discover room window faced a cement wall. Bedsheet, bathroom decently clean but not fantastic. Happy I didn't itch from the 2 nights in that room. However, could spot leftover hair here and there. Small fridge, hair dryer provided.

For 3rd night, we asked to change to a room with a view (not that great a view anyway but at least sunlight filtered in!) & big mistake for me. Even though the room was newly made up the bedsheet had a big yellow stain right smack in the middle (too tired from shopping to ask for a change) & tiny hair was all over the bed. Itched the whole night in that bed! Breakfast was a decent spread; largely local fair. Assorted bread dipped in curry was super tasty!

Why I would come back here to stay again is because @ SGD60/night, it's value for money & it makes for easy access to Nagoya Shopping Mall (which in my humble opinion, is better than the other malls in Batam we'd been to). Plenty of eateries, massage parlours, spas nearby (plenty of potholes too). Have stayed in better hotels but they were beach resorts & located far from the shopping belt. So it depends on what you're there for.

Hotel has Alishan KTV with big rooms, fair choice of English songs but drinks as expected were pricier. Guess waiter wasn't too happy we only ordered Coke as it arrived warm with no ice! There is an inhouse massage parlour. Didn't try but did go check out the rooms. Looked clean and like all the rest. Option to call for room massage.

Have to cross a small road and 2 busier roads to reach Nagoya Shopping Mall (the locals just walk even when the cars are headed their way! It's a pain crossing these 2 roads. Requires a special skill & not advisable for parents with very young kids). A zebra crossing is there but the vehicles don't care much for it!

Value for money hotel. Good location, quiet enough but no sea view. Not a resort so no entertainment for kids. Room wifi password available from reception desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or you might end up with a window facing a cement wall.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Big room big bed. Good location. Fun Happy Alishan KTV.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LinaFynZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews