We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, great location”
Review of Hotel de Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Monaco
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing value, great location”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We arrived into Monaco late in the afternoon in the off season, with many places closed and dreading Monaco prices. This was an amazing find - 2 minutes drive from Monaco itself, under 100 euros a night, nice shaded back garden, excellent service, very quiet, and near the cliff walk from Cap d'Ail to Monaco (incredibly beautiful). Decorations are chic, hotel is very clean, has a boutique feel to it. As other reviewers have noted, the management are not initially warm in their demeanor. But we found them very accommodating and helpful when we asked. Manager speaks impeccable English.

Room Tip: Rear-facing rooms are quieter, but have no sun. In hot summer, this may be a good thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
10
47
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The hotel is located very close to Monaco in a quiet French town setting. It is beautifully decorated with very clean rooms and great staff. It is perfect for resting, walking and watching the curvy French shore.
The breakfast was delicious :)

Room Tip: If you have a car, it is the perfect location for visiting Monaco and staying away from the crowded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night for a business trip.
the hotel is nice with a particular and design furnishings in the hall.
My room was on the 3th floor and i must carried my baggage alone because there wasn't the elevator.
Room was clean but not freshness but there was a great view from the window.
The bathroom was very very small.
Breakfast was a buffet servevd on hall counter.
Price is ok for this very expensive location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChildsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We just returned to Paris after spending a wonderful weekend in Cap d'ail at the Hotel de Monaco. It's a charming hotel with a great location just up the hill from a fantastic running/walking path along the ocean that goes all the way into Monaco. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated, and it just has a great vibe. It would be perfect to rent out the whole place for a wedding, family reunion or other special occassion. We will definitely stay here on our next trip down in the fall. In fact, we're looking forward to it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I am on my way back from the airport now and felt like I should spend my taxi ride home saying a BIG thankyou to Roberto and his team for really making my 4 night stay in Hotel de Monaco! I was travelling on my own for a relaxing few days in the sun with my books and some good food. As a female on my own I felt totally at ease in the hotel which has the ability to make you feel like you have been invited to an acquaintance's Villa for a break. While the hotel had no restaurant that was not a drawback as it forced me to hop on the 100 bus (for €1 !) to monte Carlo, which is only 10mins away, for dinner overlooking the sea in one if their great restaurants. Roberto couldn't have been more helpful and I always enjoyed my glass of wine in the hotel's garden before going to bed. Great value, amazing location between Nice and Monaco. Should be #1 on trip advisor in Cap D'Ail.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-in-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2009

This is a truly beautiful hotel.... a haven. Many small, so called 'boutique hotels' could learn an awful lot with a quick visit to the Hotel de Monaco. It is all incredibly simple, yet incredibly stylish. The breakfast is continental and there is no restaurant or room service (Sebastian of the front desk makes a lovely coffee if needed), but there are so many places to eat nearby in Monaco that you do not feel deprived. This is somewhere to rest and enjoy. The beach is a few minutes walk away and that in itself is a very pleasant experience. This is not the place to go if you have children as I do, or are perhaps elderly or disabled, as there is no lift to the floors of which there are 3. If you want style, cleanliness and a peaceful nights sleep then this is the place for you. I loved it and I am super fussy!

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BeachJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

There are many positive points about Hotel de Monaco, and for the rates quoted I must agree that it does more than deliver quality wise as most decent hotels around Cap d'Ail/Monaco are quite a bit more expensive. I stayed in a single room, which was more of a place to sleep than spend time relaxing in. Also, the breakfast they serve in the main dining are around reception was lovely.

What primarily prompted me to comment on the hotel is one of the former reviewer who indeed gave a fair account of the management. The husband/wife team owning Hotel de Monaco did give a mixed impression. David was quite rude upon check-out, but it seemed more to be a part of his personality than a conscious attempt. A shame, since my impression other wise was very positive.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
1.0 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
0.1 mi away
Edmond's Hotel
Edmond's Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
45 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Quai Des Princes
Le Quai Des Princes
#5 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail
Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail
#8 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Monaco

Property: Hotel de Monaco
Address: 1 avenue Pierre Weck, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the Mala beach, only 5 minutes from Monaco and 20 minutes from Nice Airport, the Hotel Monaco today occupies a privileged place on the French Riviera. So much peace and nature so close to Monte Carlo, a facility where it is mild live. With its spacious reception and hearty breakfasts, Monaco Hotel is an ideal place to meet with confidence. The private bar and terrace lounge also relaxation of synonyms and successful appetizers. A place out of time, for an unforgettable experience ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Monaco France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing