We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quality Business Hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Usual Marriott experience, everything well-organised. Decent breakfast, good restaurant and bar. Lifts small for size of hotel, so delays during breakfast rush and when coach parties arrive. Some confusion over conference suite booking rapidly resolved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
“ Dear Seedy,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for this perfect rating concerning your recent stay with us.

Very happy to read that the Hotel manage to accomplished your business trip in the area, that you had a great experiences and enjoyed our Restaurant outlets, and organization.

We also thank you for constructive feedback concerning the lift, and the reservation confusion. We will work on it to make it better next time.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    361
    152
    49
    16
See reviews for
167
325
33
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

What a wonderful time we had at this hotel! I booked it with points and really wasn't sure what to expect, but everything was perfect. The location cannot be beat - it is in France, but right across the street from Monaco. You can walk anywhere from here, and they have a courtesy shuttle for spots that are too far to walk or involve luggage. The staff was so friendly and helpful and the hotel itself was just delightful. Our room was cozy and comfortable, overlooked the water and had a nice little balcony. The hotel bar had a really nice vibe and the prices were reasonable. The concierge was super helpful in assisting us with suggestions for day trips and excursions. As a meeting planner, I have very high hotel expectations and they were met and exceeded here. If I am back in this part of the world, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the water, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriMTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear TerriMTay,

Thank you so very much for your great feedback from your recent stay with us, happy to see that it was a wonderful surprise for you.

We are very proud that a Meeting Planner was really impressed and satisfied with our Hotel. Thank you!!

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your room, the view, and the Hotel Location and most importantly the service of the team, thery are very happy about your feedback!

In particular to the Bar and the Concierge, are very thankful for your comments.

Looking forward to welcome you back when you travel the area again.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have visited this hotel several times over the past 10 years. The staff is excellent and we are always treated like family. Any questions we have are always answered quickly and correctly. The housekeeping staff is very efficient and the turndown at night provides late day service such as providing extra towels, emptying any trash you may have, and of course, the nightly chocolate. The location overlooks the Cap D'Ail harbor and the Mediterranean. Although in France, you can walk out the door and be in Monaco in 10 steps. All of Monaco is walkable from the hotel, including a very nice market (the Carrefour) where you can buy liquor, wine, food, and those items you forgot to bring. The Concierge Desk was especially helpful. We worked with the staff prior to arrival and they had all our requests addressed when we arrived. In summary, we had an exceptional experience and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Sea View Room on an upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear William P,

thank you for your kind words and perfect rating.

We are happy to ready we are your choice for the last 10 years and that we always keep our promise to you to have high service standards.

The team is very happy about your comments, they make them feel recognize for their every day effort, from housekeeping to the Restaurant or our Concierge who is always very attentive to make sure your expectations and requests are met.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon and thank you for your high recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am not really a fan of this hotel. We were originally given two rooms that smelled of smoke (we are non smokers) and we had to almost force them to give us different rooms. It was like they did not believe us. It was just a so so stay otherwise. The next time I am in the region, I will not be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delta77L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Delta77L,

First of all we thank you for your constructive feedback concerning your stay with us.

We are sad to see that we didn’t meet your expectations.

We reviewed your comments with our housekeeping department to better inspect the rooms, we are sorry if we gave you the impression we do not believe you, please be assured we take every comment very serious and immediately follow up with the responsible person in order to have accidents like yours do not happen again.

We hope you will give us another chance, and thank you again for giving your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornell, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spend three wonderful nights here. We always stay in marriott hotels and this hotel is perfect.. The staff was welcoming and perfect. They took care of everything we needed. The room and hotel facilities were wonderful and what you would expect from a Marriott .

The location is great....you can walk to everywhere or take a bus which is right out your door! Loved it!

Room Tip: Ocean view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanolaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear NanolaMarie,

On the behalf of the entire team of the Riviera Marriott Hotel la Porte de Monaco: a big thank you for your kind feedback concerning your recent stay with us and this perfect rating.

We really appreciated the fact you enjoyed everything, the Hotel, the facilities, the staff and the location.

We really hope to be able to welcoming you soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The very proximity to Monte Carlo and its location opposite the marina in Cap d'Ail makes this hotel seem special. Considering it's a Marriott, it definitely should be, but unfortunately it "ain't" Except for the seaside view, everything was pretty darn average. The lobby, restaurant and a patio areas are OK looking, though not exactly spic and span. The hallways look dated and tired. Only two smallish elevators doesn't seem sufficient for this size of a hotel. Hotel restaurant food (breakfast, lunch, snacks, dinner) really not remarkable, at all. Cheap and not very healthy options. WiFi not free. Even the fast internet in the business area wasn't free. You could surf the net over a slow connection for up to an hour for free. That's just unclassy these days.
The pluses: close to Monte Carlo, private parking, seaside rooms offer nice views, rooms - rather comfortable. An ironing board and an iron!!!! -so rare in European hotels.
This hotel could and should be a gem. Try harder, Marriott.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms with a terrace are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sferaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Sferaverde,

We feel very sorry to read that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay with us.

We have some renovation planed already, we have done in the last 2 years the bar and terrace areas, the whole air conditioning of the hotel, and will do the corridors, Hotel entrance very soon.

We have three elevators in our Hotel, and the Wifi is free in the lobby and all the public areas for 24 hours.

We appreciate your nice comments regarding the Hotel location, the view and the facilities in the hotel.

We hope to have the chance to show you the improvements we have done for your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I arrived around 7:30 pm on a Wednesday evening after a long train ride and less than impressive welcome at the train station by the local police (I'll go into that more in a different review of the town since it has nothing to do with the hotel). Anyway, at check-in my husband realized that he'd left his passport in his jacket which he'd left on the train. Without missing a beat, Lora the front desk manager, asked us which train we'd been on and which seat we'd had. She called the train people and said she would track down his passport/jacket. Hubby was panicked, of course, and she reassured him she would get it. We went to our room and within 10 minutes, she called the room and said "meet me in the lobby at 8:20." So he did. The Shuttle driver took the two of them to the train station and the train we were on pulled in (it was making its way back to Paris), and a train employee jumped off it, found Lora and my husband and handed him his jacket. Just like that! In less than an hour and fifteen minutes, she had his passport back to him. That's SERVICE!!

The room was clean and typical of a Marriott. Comfortable bed, mini-bar, tea/coffee service, TV, etc. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was easy to use. The balcony was small but big enough for two to sit at the little table. Of course, the view was fantastic! We had requested and received a Sea View room on a high floor. Some have said the decor was outdated and I would agree that in the common areas (hallways in particular), they could use some more light and updating. But the room itself, seemed to have been updated and was right in line with the other Marriott's we'd stayed at during our trip.

We at the first night in the hotel and had a good meal. I particularly liked the black olive tapenade that came with the bread. At check in, I was given a free drink coupon and took advantage of it that night. Didn't realize until looking at the bill later on in the room, the waiter hadn't charged me for either of the cocktails I'd had (two gin & tonic's). We had a plan with breakfast included and it was served in the restaurant. They had the usual european fare, along with some extras - pancakes, omelet's, etc. It was all well done.

Requested a dinner tip for our second night and the front desk recommended Amici Miei for dinner. We wanted something within walking distance as I have a bad leg. They kindly book our reservation and also had the shuttle driver take us there on his routine run that evening. We very much enjoyed the restaurant, its view, the service, food, etc. It was a great meal! We had a nice walk back to the hotel.

We used the shuttle to get us into Monte Carlo proper. The driver had told us which bus to take back to the hotel from the palace - the number 1 and to get off at the first stop and then taking the number 6 to our hotel. Stupidly, when we got on the number 1 bus and asked the driver when to get off for the number 6, we stayed on and got off at the 2nd stop as the bus driver had said in his french/bad english (we don't speak french). Sure enough when we got off, it was a stop for the #6, but it was going in the wrong direction. Had to walk several blocks and around the bend, to find the #6 going in the right direction. You want the #6 to FONTVIEILLE! Once on the bus, it was a breeze back to the hotel as the driver told me exactly when to get off (and I could see the hotel as well.)

We had enjoyed ourselves so much there that we'd given serious consideration to changing our itinerary and staying an extra night. We didn't, but it was in serious contention. The next time we go to Monaco, we will definitely be staying at the Marriott!!

Room Tip: Sea view room on a high floor away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz22902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Liz22902,

Thank you very much for your time and excellent feedback concerning your stay with us.

We were very happy to read that Lora has been able to get your passport, indeed it has been very special also from the people on the train to get the jacket.

I took the opportunitty to give special thank to Lora and her Service Excellence.

We are pleased to see that the rooms and the equipment met your expectation while staying in a our Hotel, that you enjoyed the view, and the Hotel facilities.

We thank you for your constructive feedback concerning the publiuc areas, indeed we are int the process of looking into next refurbishments.

We also passed you nice comments to our Concierge concerning the pre-arrival work she has done for your stay, and the restaurant recommendation offered to you, we are happy that you enjoyed the complimentary drink offered to our Elite members.

We also shared your nice comments to the restaurant Team, both for breakfast and dinner, Tapenade is a classic is South of France, we are happy your enjoyed it!!

Once again a big thank you for all your remarks, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
0.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco

Property: Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Address: Port de Cap D Ail, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France (Formerly Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casting a serene reflection upon the Cap d'Ail harbor on France's Cote d'Azur, the Riviera Marriott La Porte de Monaco captures the spirit of Monaco. It's a magical place, where you can lose yourself in its fragrant breezes, profound beauty and international allure. As one of the premier hotels in Monaco, you'll be introduced to a superior level of service and amenities. Elegantly appointed accommodations beautifully blend extraordinary comfort with welcome features such as high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Riviera La Porte De Monaco Hotel Cap d`Ail
Cap d Ail Marriott
Marriott Cap D'ail
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte De Monaco France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing