We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp
1 review
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very friendly people, good breakfast, great bar, the rooms are a bit old and need to be refurbished. The hotel is walking distance (25 min) from Monaco, which is quite do-able. All-in-all I can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Johan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Johan L,

We thank you for your appreciative comments, and will share them with the entire Team.

Regarding the rooms, this is one of our main focus to redo all of them so maybe it will be the case for your next visit.

Thank you for your recommendation.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    372
    158
    51
    19
See reviews for
175
341
36
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great hotel, friendly and efficient service. Sea view rooms are so much better than Mountain view, both for quality of room, noise and view. Great price for this area and across the street from the stadium.

Room Tip: Sounds obvious but go for a sea view room if you have the chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Justin N,

All the staff joins me to thank you for this great review!!

We appreciate your positive comments regarding the staff, the service, and the Good value of our property for it’s location.

Happy to hear you enjoyed our seaview room, they all have a balcony overlookig the Mediterranean See, which enables to enjoy and realx even more.

Looking forward to welcome you soon, and to be your next holiday destination.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This Marriott delivered.
Love the management!
Extremely helpful luggage keeper.
Our shuttle driver went out of his way to take us to the train station.
Must return to visit staff. --Okay cork time, uproot me to Bordeaux.

Room Tip: Higher floor always. Though a 90-degree ocean front corner, your balcony view is still unobstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 2scorpios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear 2Scorpios,

We really appreciated your perfect note regarding your stay with us.

This is our best reward to have such a great feedback from our Guest.

We thank you very much and the team is very much looking forward to welcome you back at your next visit !

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our family of four stayed here in August and enjoyed our stay.

Pros: Beautiful view of the sea and harbor; excellent breakfast; free shuttle to center of town, which had to be reserved ahead of time usually; very friendly and helpful staff which made excellent restaurant recommendation and easily cleared up a billing discrepancy; very clean; reasonably priced considering you are almost in Monaco.

Cons: No free WIFI in rooms (at least we could never find it)--we could sometimes get free WIFI in common areas; not actually in Monaco and not as close to the center of town as a room in Beausoleil would be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonesterPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear TonesterPa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Family Experience in our property.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the view, the room, the restaurant facilities, and that the staff made the experience even more enjoyable, because of their kindness and knowledge, be assured that we will share with the Team, and they will really appreciate.

As you mention we do provide free wifi in the lobby and in the restaurant areas. In the room we do have a secured Internet System, where you can connect up to six different devices for a fee.

We would be very happy to have you and family back on Board for your next visit of the South of France.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Location fabulous 2 min walk to Fontvielle. Reception really tired, not enough staff. Waiting 20 mins for a beer at the bar is not acceptable. 20 mins waiting for an omelette was hopeless. Rooms spacious enough with good balcony. The concierge and shuttle driver was called John from UK. He was the most helpful person we met and he should be commended for great service

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RacingDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Racingdriver,

We appreciate your feedback concerning your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay through some interactions where we did not meet your expectation.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the location, and the room with the great Sea view, and we will definitively pass you nice comments to Jon. He will be very happy.

We hope you will give us another chance to show us we improve our level of service to make your stay more enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have stayed here several times and cant recommend it enough. Rooms are spacious and well maintained - breakfast is great and service is excellent. Pool is a little small but never had a problem getting a sun lounger. View over the sea / port is stunning. Really easy to walk into monaco / monte carlo. Hotel operates a shuttle bus service if you really cant manage a walk. Its not cheap but if you want the monaco experience and can't afford the main hotels this is a great choice. Staff at reception desk were knowledgeable and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Baileygang,

We really appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are really happy to read that you enjoyed the Hotel, the view, the service, the facilities, the staff, and keep coming to our property when you are coming in this area.

We appreciate you loyalty and really hope to be again your favorite place to stay for your next visit.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beantown
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is not in Monaco, but in Cap d'Ail, France - just something to keep in mind. We chose this place because I was able to use my Marriott points, so we had different expectations than someone paying 400+ per night. We had a great time, even though we got a smoking room. Breakfasts were great. My daughter loves pancakes & we were very surprised that they had them every day + real Canadian maple syrup! Great breakfast 4 our of 5 days. (one day the pancakes were stone cold). Nice area though even though they did not have a beach - the web site makes it look like they do nearby. Commuting to the Nice Airport is easy since the bus stops right in front of the hotel. Standard Marriott experience style-wise although it could use an update. Great Service. Great view (I think all rooms face the Marina). Adrian at the front desk was excellent & help us through an initial issue we had with the smoking room.

Room Tip: Top floor is smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMan-90125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear GMan- 90125,

All the Staff of the Riviera Marriott Hotel thank you for your nice comments about your stay with us.

We are very happy to read that you were satisfied with your stay and enjoyed the entire experience.

We will pass your great comments to the staff, and especially Adrian.

Regarding the smoking room we are very happy to announce that we are going to have two extra non-smoking floor in our property that will help to avoid this kind of inconvenience. We apologize for this.

For the beach, in fact we do not have our private beach at the Marriott but less than 5 minutes’ walk west of the hotel you have the Marquet Beach where you can relax and reserve sunbeds with our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back, and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,304 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco

Property: Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Address: Port de Cap D Ail, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France (Formerly Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casting a serene reflection upon the Cap d'Ail harbor on France's Cote d'Azur, the Riviera Marriott La Porte de Monaco captures the spirit of Monaco. It's a magical place, where you can lose yourself in its fragrant breezes, profound beauty and international allure. As one of the premier hotels in Monaco, you'll be introduced to a superior level of service and amenities. Elegantly appointed accommodations beautifully blend extraordinary comfort with welcome features such as high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Riviera La Porte De Monaco Hotel Cap d`Ail
Cap d Ail Marriott
Marriott Cap D'ail
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte De Monaco France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing