We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had a really good stay at this hotel. The rooms and hallways feel a bit dated but the staff and location made more than up for it. Make sure you get an ocean view room. We had a nice sized balcony which was great. A great touch in our room was the door separating the entrance from the actual room, so you did never hear those annoying sounds from the outside hallway (e.g. doors slamming shut, elevator chimes, cleaning crews) - i wish more hotels had this. The bathroom was clean and functional, but nothing to write home about.

The staff was super friendly, most of them spoke perfect English and they were very helpful. The hotel has a nice bar and pool area that felt very loungy. We loved the location, as it is just on the French side of the border to Monaco - to one side a leisurely 15 min walk into the old town (they also have a shuttle), to the other side a 5 min walk to the next beach and directly connected to the coastal walking path which will give you a glimpse of how romantic the Cote d'Azur can be.

I'd consider this place again when staying in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view room. It's definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmodrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear "Cosmodrome",

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your feedback you have done regarding your stay with us.

We are very happy that you had a great stay with us and are thinking already about us for your next visit in the South of France.

It couldn’t be better for us.

We thank you for your constructive comments, rooms and hallways are part of the next renovation the Hotel will accomplish.

And thank you also for the positive comment concerning the door between the corridor and the room itself, this is true that is allows our guest to avoid noise from corridor, happy to read you liked it.

We will share your nice words to all the staff, and the shuttle drivers.

The Staff Service is one of our priority in the Hotel, we love to host and want our guests to feel at home.

We are looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    357
    150
    49
    16
See reviews for
165
322
33
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and had a very enjoyable stay in Monaco. The view is spectacular and it is very quiet. The hotel provides a great shuttle to nearby restaurants and the main part of Monaco (Casino and all the shopping). In our mind, it was the best of both worlds, the quiet of the lovely harbor while being 5 minutes away for all the glamour, hustle and bustle that Monaco is.

By the way, Jon was a great bellman. Very helpful. They also recommended a great seafood restaurant that is about 2 minutes by van or a 10 minute walk. Great fish baked in a salt crust.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view. Hey, how many times are you going to be in Monaco?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear "Geoffontheroad",

We cannot thank you enough for this perfect rating your gave to our Hotel regarding your last visit.

It is just so great for us and our best reward when our guest leave as happy as you were.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the facilities, our free shuttle service, the Sea View, and the location.

Be assured that we will pass your personalized comment to Jon. We are very proud to have him in our Team.

Thank you again so much for this great feedback.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

When you get there ask for Jon, the English bellman. He will give you candid advice on things to do. He has a great personality and will make you feel comfortable from the moment you arrive.

The hotel was nice. The rooms were rather small. I had to switch rooms because my luggage (5 suitcases) would not fit.

The workout room was pretty bad, it had two treadmills and one elliptical, a few free weights and 1-2 other machines. But you have to leave the hotel to get to the gym. But I guess most people don't come here for the gym :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear "Talia M",

We really appreciate your constructive comments regarding your stay in our Hotel.

First of all we would like to thank you for the kind comments about Jon, he really appreciates your kind words about his service.

We appreciate your constructive comments about the fitness and we will take them into consideration for our future refurbishment plans, indeed most customer love to do jogging on the beautiful path on the west side of the hotel called “sentier du littoral” which goes along the sea, for approximately one hour exercise and is one of the most beautiful spots of the French Riviera.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Yes, it is a standard Marriott, but it is conviniently located with a free shuttle to various sites in Monaco, the service is quite good, the rooms are clean and spacious, and the price is reasonable. We stayed here for a couple of nights recently and were very pleased with the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank San V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear San V,

On the behalf of the entire Team, we thank you for your recent review about our property, and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We try to make our best to provide good service, in a great location, with the best value for our customer.

So thank you for your great comments and appreciation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Was very pleased with the Marriott. The room was clean and beds were so comfortable. It was nice to have double beds to sleep in instead of the typical twin bed you find in most European hotels. The staff was so friendly. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Had an omelet made with all the fixings. The Hotel was located in front of the marina. It was so beautiful. We ate dinner and had drinks in the patio area. The staff was fabulous. We had a great time. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvfamilyvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear "Luvfamilyvacations",

We really appreciated all your great comments regarding your stay with us.

Happy to read that you enjoyed the Room, the view, the staff, and our Restaurant facilities.

We really hope to be your next holiday destination in the south of France.

Thank you very much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

For the area, the hotel was decent; room was big enough but too bad they charged for rolling beds/don't have 3 people occupancy standard rooms, room also smelled of smoke for some reason even though it's a non-smoking -- possibly due to people smoking on their balconies then smoke wafting through the left-open sliding doors, very nice concierge + friendly bellboys/drivers though some of the front staff are impatient/rude, useful shuttle though I wished they also provided pick-up service. The room + bathroom is slightly aged but honestly very livable; breakfast is full-service, the view from our room was the best part, overlooking the marina club + harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calbearhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Carlbearhk,

First of all we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Concerning the room we do have rooms that accommodate three persons, such as family rooms for example, with two queen size bed inside, otherwise we charge for extra bed for adult in our standard rooms, but free for children under 12 years old.

We are very happy to announce that we are going to have less smoking rooms in our property. Therefore it will be easier for our non-smoking guests to enjoy the balconies without being annoyed.

We were very sorry to read that our Front desk Staff gave you this wrong image of them, and be assured that your comments will help us to improve our level of Service.

But we thank you for the great comments concerning both Concierge and the Bellman Teams.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

What more is there to say it's a plastic Marriott, €200 per night for a small room, small bathroom, lousy breakfast buffet, (most of the items had run out by 0930, the bacon was greasy and had to ask for coffee, bread and pastries were not up to French standard). Service in the bar was friendly but amateur. Prices were high.

Conclusion: was booked in by the company I was visiting but I would not choose it, better to find a nice little three star hotel

Room Tip: Don't get put in a "mountain view" room you will be looking out at a cliff and the onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear "David C",

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay.

We are all very sorry to read that you were unpleased with your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that you did not have enough space during your stay. Our Seaview rooms might match your needs with the additional minimum 6 sqm balconies which add to the minimum 24 sqm mountain view room .

It would have made your stay more enjoyable for sure.

I gave your comments to our Chef concerning the breakfast buffet, He will take immediate action on this regard, and we hope to be able to show you the improvement on your next visit with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon, and hope to be able to give you a better image and experience with us.

Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
0.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco

Property: Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Address: Port de Cap D'Ail, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France (Formerly Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casting a serene reflection upon the Cap d'Ail harbor on France's Cote d'Azur, the Riviera Marriott La Porte de Monaco captures the spirit of Monaco. It's a magical place, where you can lose yourself in its fragrant breezes, profound beauty and international allure. As one of the premier hotels in Monaco, you'll be introduced to a superior level of service and amenities. Elegantly appointed accommodations beautifully blend extraordinary comfort with welcome features such as high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Riviera La Porte De Monaco Hotel Cap d`Ail
Cap d Ail Marriott
Marriott Cap D'ail
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte De Monaco France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing