We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week stay in Monaco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had a very good stay in Monaco, the Marriott Hotel made all the difference, there is a hotel mini bus that will take you to various locations in Monaco free of charge, and the driver is very helpful and pleasant.

The brunch on a Sunday is very good quality and excellent value for money

Staff generally very attentive to your needs

Room Tip: Most of the rooms in the hotel are good, I have stayed here a number of times, the real difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nige_byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear "nige_byrne",

On the behalf of all the Hotel staff and Management, would like to thank you for your great feedback on your recent stay with us.

We were really happy to read that the Marriott was part of the success of your French Riviera Stay. This really mean a lot to us.

Our shuttle service, free of charge, to get to town is really a plus in our Hotel, and this is great to read your appreciated our drivers kindness.

Our Chef is also working very hard to maintain a high level standard of our Sunday Brunch, but keeping in mind the good value for our Guests.

We hope you will be back soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 944 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

After two weeks of staying in budget hotels, the Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco was a welcome upgrade. We were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to an ocean-view balcony upon arrive. Reception was kind and allowed us to securely store our luggage while we walked around Monaco waiting for our room to be ready. There is a shuttle that runs directly to Monte Carlo, but make sure you book the shuttle ahead of time as it is apparently very crowded. We were unable to make a shuttle, but ended up wandering through Monaco which was equally as enjoyable.

The hotel is located directly on the country line and there are some restaurants about 10-15 minutes away in Monaco. Monte Carlo is quite a hike (30-45 minutes uphill) from the hotel, but it is an enjoyable walk. The castle and old city are closer (about 15-20 minutes away). Instead of dinner, we opted to buy excellent cheese and wine at the local grocery store and spend the evening on our balcony.

Since we departed before the shuttle service began, we requested a cab. When the cab did not arrive, the desk attendant was gracious enough to drive us to the train station and carry my luggage to near the platform. Excellent service.

Room and bathroom are spacious, with a comfortable bed. My one complaint is that internet is only available free in the lobby (for a twenty four hour period) and you must pay (or have a plug-in) to access the internet in the room. Since we were staying just one night, the internet was not a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacollegestudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear "vacollegestudent",

We would like to thank you for your detailed description of your visit in our Hotel.

Great to read you had an enjoyable stay, and experience with us.

We have shared your comments with our Teams.
This is one of our priority to make everything we can to make sure our guests are happy whatever can happen, so we are very glad to see that our front desk associate could go out of his way make sure you will catch your train on time because there was no taxi available.

You are right our shuttle is so popular that we really recommend to reserve in advance.
Also walking in Monaco is a delighted and really safe so this is also a pleasant alternative.

Thank you again for your time sharing the positive comments and hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Located on the western extremity of Monaco, literally across the street from the Monaco football stadium, but actually in France, this hotel is fairly typical business fayre.

The rooms are decently furnished with very large beds, but the shower was the cheap old-fashioned out of the bath tap version. The 32" tv had surprisingly poor reception, the worst I've ever seen in a hotel, and bad enough to make me keep it switched off most off the time.

I had free in-room wifi with my rate, but annoyingly it cut out every hour, so there were times I lost things without warning.

The breakfasts were the usual large buffet with bread, fruit, juice and some hot items. It's not the hotel's fault, but French bacon is about 90% fat, which isn't exactly appetising. In theory, there's someone who cooks omelettes to order, but I only ever saw this happen at weekends, where the queue was so big I couldn't be bothered waiting.

That all sounds pretty negative, but praise must be given to the staff, who were unfailingly polite, helpful and friendly in both reception and at breakfast. The rooms were also cleaned spotlessly.

Another plus is that the hotel is at the start of a lovely coastal walk along to Plage Mala, with plenty of sunbathing places along the way.

Despite the slight negatives, the hotel is definitely better than average and probably is relatively reasonably priced compared to Monaco proper, so definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brigadoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear "Brigadoon",

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback concerning your recent stay with us.
This is always a great help for us to improve our level of service.

We were very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay, and that our staff made your stay a pleasant one.

We shared your constructive comments with our Engineering Team, and our Chef.

By this time we are happy to announce that we will have an additional internet upgrade by next month.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back and make you see the improvement we have made.

Yours sincerely,”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My partner and I just returned from a 2 night post cruise stay at the Marriott and I must say that we were surprised at how nice and convenient this hotel was. We debated staying at the fancier and seriously more expensive hotels in Monte Carlo, but settled on the Marriott. We were very happy with our choice: the rooms were very nice (typical Marriott) with great beds and good size (for southern Europe), the bathrooms were nicely equipped, the a/c was excellent, and the hotel was clean. It could use a little updating, but its perfectly fine and adequately maintained. Breakfast (included in our rate) was very good with all of the typical items (like any other Marriott worldwide) and it was nice to be able to eat outside on the terrace by the marina. Breakfast service was a bit disorganized, but no real problems. Service at the front desk was outstanding, with all staff members being very helpful and kind: we were overwhelmed, service like this is very unusual in the part of the world. The hotel even picked us up at the cruise ship terminal in Monte Carlo at no charge when we had difficulty getting a taxi!

We were concerned with the location of the hotel, just over the border from Monaco and away from the center of Monte Carlo. Its not an issue, one can walk from the hotel to any location in minutes and taxis are available at reasonable prices. The hotels location is actually a bonus, it has beautiful sea views and is close to the beach and local shopping.

Its really nice when things work out better than expected: the Marriott is a very good choice when in Monte Carlo and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room, they have a balcony are are much larger. Some rooms on the lower floors hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay in Monaco. Let's not pretend that the whole area is anything other than very very expensive, but well worth a visit. Perhaps we were lucky but our room on the third floor was well equipped, clean and just what we needed. There was no charge for the items that we used from the mini bar. Breakfast was a pleasant experience with us being able to dine outside next to the marina. There was the usual choices: juices, cheese, meats, breads, pastries, yoghurt, and some hot items such as eggs, bacon and sausage. The service was very good and we were not disappointed. Had one cocktail in the bar £15 - not cheap but you must be prepared that you are not going to get value for money in Monaco.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms would be worth the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeedsTeacherfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the marriott for three nights over Easter and cannot wait to return! The Hotel is warm and welcoming and in a perfect position . It is extremely clean and well appointed with our room being large and spacious with a lovely balcony . We had a delicious breakfast every morning that is highly recommended with bread, cheese and fresh fruit , we couldn't wish for better hosts. Stay here, you will love it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here at the end of March.. I was in Monaco for a weekend event and I quite enjoyed my stay at this hotel as it fulfilled all my basic requirements: Good rooms, Cleanliness, Noise Free, Nice Views and Good service. I recommend this place for sure. Its also exactley located on the bus 110 line, which is the airport shuttle that comes every hour, so you get to go directly to the airport for 25 eurors from the entrance of the hotel. its also close to all the attractions in monaco, I walked on my first day there.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the sea, just on different levels. I was on the 8th floor which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelLoverXOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,255 reviews
2 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,765 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Quai Des Princes
Le Quai Des Princes
#6 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco

Address: Port de Cap D Ail, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France (Formerly Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range: $159 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casting a serene reflection upon the Cap d'Ail harbor on France's Cote d'Azur, the Riviera Marriott La Porte de Monaco captures the spirit of Monaco. It's a magical place, where you can lose yourself in its fragrant breezes, profound beauty and international allure. As one of the premier hotels in Monaco, you'll be introduced to a superior level of service and amenities. Elegantly appointed accommodations beautifully blend extraordinary comfort with welcome features such as high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Riviera La Porte De Monaco Hotel Cap d`Ail
Cap d Ail Marriott
Marriott Cap D'ail
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte De Monaco France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing