We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wessington Village Chippy

Wessington Village Chippy
Ranked #9 of 54 Restaurants in Alfreton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Fish & Chips since 1949! This is a family run business offering the best quality fish and chips you can find. We are only open Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings 5pm-9pm
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

The best fish I've had! Pure white and the chips were cooked to perfection a little more expensive than most but you are paying for quality!!!

Helpful?
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c1ppy, Owner at Wessington Village Chippy, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful little village chippy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Always appears to be closed when I pass through the village, but that's not a criticism... it's a little chippy in a little village that sells chips :0) Feels a little like you're crashing into someone's living room, but the price is fair and served with a smile.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DEsMond_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c1ppy, Owner at Wessington Village Chippy, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“this has to be THE best chippy in derbyshire and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

yes you may have to queue at times but its a small spotlessly clean chippy and all the food is fresh and cooked while you wait and its worth the wait :) and you get what you pay for and this is 1st class better than any greasy seaside chippy, the fish are huge and pure white with crispy batter and a mountain of chips and yes I`m eating some right now and they were still hot when I travelled back home , highly recommended

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c1ppy, Owner at Wessington Village Chippy, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Quality good and great service on our recent visit. We were expecting a huge wait with our order for 12 people but we were served quickly and didn't have to wait too long at all considering food is prepared while you wait. Fish and chips were delicious... Worth the drive from our campsite and the few extra pennies!!

Helpful?
Thank lord_n_lady_weaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c1ppy, Owner at Wessington Village Chippy, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calais
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Was o.k but not exceptional. Long wait and very expensive. I believe Ambergate chippy and Robinsons at Cromford are both better and much cheaper.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Malc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c1ppy, Owner at Wessington Village Chippy, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Hi, thank you for your review. Yes we are a little more expensive, but we use the best ingredients from local suppliers and all our fish are from sustainable fishing grounds consequently the prices are a little higher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wessington Village Chippy also viewed

 
Alfreton, Derbyshire
 

Been to Wessington Village Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing