We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good carvery”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ashwood Inn - CLOSED

The Ashwood Inn
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: NOW UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AS OF NOVEMBER 2015... The Ashwood Inn is a traditional British pub serving good, honest food. Including fantastic value lunch time meals Monday to Thursday, an extensive evening menu, as well as an all you can eat carvery dinner, all day Thursday, Friday and Saturday. The pub has a superb beer garden, with al fresco dining area, as well as a childrens slide and swing. To the front of the pub is a large car park, and another al fresco dining area, situated on a wooden decked veranda. The pub serves real ale as well as draught, and a good range of international wines.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good carvery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Called Monday lunch time, good choice of meat and extras. Very good selection of fresh vegetables and lovely gravy.

Will definitely return

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    30
    19
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food at good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

As locals We have been to the Ashwood many times for carvery and main menu meals, we have found that all food has been of good quality and excellently cooked. It's a real turn around and we are pleased that the Ashwood is doing well.

Our only criticism is that the ambiance of the place is little flat and you seem to get no real atmosphere or a friendly feeling, on the occasions that we have visited and the owners have been there they seem to not want to get to know their customers this rubs off on the other staff.

My last comment is please get rid of the black serviettes it makes the dinning area look dark and a bit like your walking into a wake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local yokels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visit the Ashwood usually once a week. The choice of meal is exceptional, & the food is very tasty, & plenty of it. We were slightly disappointed to find that the cheaper carvery meal has been dropped, as the standard meal costs £6.45. We won't stop going, but may have to change to once a fortnight. The staff are always friendly & very helpful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Small Carvery Option Removed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Visited again today with friends and informed that the small carvey option was no longer available. As pensioners on a limited budget and reasonably regular daytime visitors they have now priced themselves out for us compared to other local carveries, we will no longer be using this chain if this is the same across all restaurants. On a positive note we have previously found that the food choice, quality and value was excellent, but value wise could now only recommend it if you have a large appetite and wish to take the option of unlimited visits (assuming that is still available as well) back to the food counter, something we never required or took the option of. As a suggestion why not bring small option back but as a single visit only to vegetable counter, which was the case with the "choice of two" main food buffet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey1977, Public Relations Manager at The Ashwood Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, The small carvery have been removed from the menu, but they are still offered via the specials board "for people with a small appetite"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We are (or were) regular customers that come for the breakfast carvery which we thought was excellent value. Only to find that management has changed menu & now you have to pay more for less, which is very disappointing!! I recommended to people to come here, but now the menu has changed I definitely will not be recommending it or coming back :( Sorry management but you've lost your loyal customers through your greed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TADDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey1977, Public Relations Manager at The Ashwood Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that you have been affected by our decision to stop our breakfast carvery, however the decision to stop was based purely on viability and unfortunately the offer never quiet took off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ashwood Inn also viewed

 
Alfreton, Derbyshire
Alfreton, Derbyshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing