We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an Italian restaurant!!”
Review of Italianos Restaurant - CLOSED

Italianos Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not an Italian restaurant!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you are looking for authentic Italian food do not come here!! We asked if the pizza was thin and crispy base - it was more like concrete!! Not one of our party finished our pizzas including three pizza loving kids!! The fact that the chef was Indian/Pakistani (no disrespect to Asian people) perhaps says it all!! The ice cream dessert £4.75 was pre-packaged!! This was an unmitigated disaster and is at best anglicised Italian food done very badly!! It was also not cheap considering the quality.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The sentenence passed.Pasta, you shall be taken from this place and boiled to death.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Starter; Camembert Fritto, nice but not cooked in hot enough oil. Mains; Calzone Picante 12", just too much but very moist and tasty. The big disappointment was the tagliatelle with spicy sausage balls. The balls were nice, BUT the pasta had not only been comprehensively over cooked but also cut into pieces of less than an inch long! Not unless that was the disintegration process. After finished eating during the clearing of the table the young lady asked "was everything alright?" we let her know how poor the pasta had been, but also what was nice with the meal. She thanked us and apologised about the pasta. Time to pay; again from different young lady, "was the meal alright?" We explained to her why it wasn't, she replied "oh, yes, the chef was
told about that I think"! So, was he? And why ask if everything was alright when she supposedly knew it wasn't? Like so many waitresses/waiters it's just an automated question and anything other than "yes, that was fantastic", confuses them. The reason, the question is not from the heart, it's a perfunctory action and the person asking really isn't bothered of you come back or not. However, without asking we had our left overs put into a take away box. So, not that impressed, certainly the person cooking pasta needs to look up the term
"al dente"!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perspective_Helps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Below Average”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

After reading precious reviews I booked this restaurant as a surprise for my partner for our 4 year anniversary. We arrived at the restaurant to be greeted by a young waitress who finished her conversation with the bar maid and then approached us, on informing her we had a table booked she walked us round the restaurant (which was empty) and sat us at a table set out for 4 people, and then removed 2 sets of cutlery. I didn't feel this was a very personal service as I had booked a table for 2 and although the restaurant was empty I believe a reserved table lay up to serve the number of diners makes you feel a little more valued. Our drinks order was taken and we were give menus. For starter we both ordered button mushroom with garlic in a white wine butter sauce, with a side order of garlic bread- the mushrooms were literally a plate of mushrooms in a (not so flavoursome) sauce. They lacked flavour and the presentation was poor, for main course I had an hawiann pizza and my partner a steak in pepper sauce both with chips, the steak looked very tasty but was presented with a couple of lettuce leafs that looked straight from a pre mixed bag, the pizza was tasty but certainly nothing special and very small and the chips- a huge disappointment being frozen chips dropped in a fryer. The total bill for the meal including 3 soft drinks (2x diet coke and a lime and soda) was £42, I am happy to pay for good food at whatever the cost, however I don't feel this was value for money as the pizza and garlic bread served by take out Dominos is on par with this food if not slightly more satisfying, I won't be returning to this restaurant in future and will continue to visit an Italian in Litchfield as the food is much nicer and the service far more personable, perhaps we have been previously spoilt with the Standard of food and service at our usual Italian and thought a change would be good- unfortunately not.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E_S_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fantastic Food, but you need to book a table as its quite busy. If you love Italian Food, you will love this place

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food and nice surroundings”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had our tea there early on a Friday evening. It was quiet and we remarked that 'it was a bit expensive for Alfreton' but the food surprised us pleasantly. Can't comment on the atmosphere as we were early in the evening and only two other tables were full. Overall happy with our visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyT1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italianos Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing