We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Alfreton
Post
Inbox
Search

“Lovely pub, fab menu”
Review of The Horse & Jockey

The Horse & Jockey
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 2/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #5 of 66 Restaurants in Alfreton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Horse and Jockey is a contemporary Gastro Pub and Hotel in Wessington, Alfreton, Derbyshire. Located in a recently refurbished historical pub building, in the heart of the village. We are focused on providing friendly service in a wonderful setting whilst serving innovative, high quality food created from locally sourced produce to ensure the freshest of flavours. With 14 stunning en-suite bedrooms each with an individual design.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked lunch for ten of us for my birthday, the menu looked great especially for me as a vegetarian. We got to our table quickly and as we had pre ordered the food arrived quickly. All the staff were really lovely, couldn't do enough for us. The food was great, I really liked the lentil wellington with Sunday dinner trimmings

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyPearson2018, General Manager at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Rebecca M!

Thank you for your review, we're delighted to hear you had a wonderful meal with us for your birthday and found our service to be great also!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four adults (1 gluten free) and two children for Sunday Lunch. Our friends from Norfolk couldn't believe the GF choice available.

My husband and I shared the Butchers Block thinking it would be a smaller portion being a shared option. How wrong we were! There was a slice of each Roast - Beef, Lamb and Turkey for us both plus all the side dishes.

Our GF friend was impressed with his Roast as were the rest of us, but what really made his day was the GF Christmas pudding.

This children loved their desserts, crumble and custard and ice-cream with a big cookie, they would have been okay for an adult after that enormous Roast Dinner.

Service was impeccable even though they were very busy standards didn't fall, as we watched the same quality and service being delivered to the people who ate later then we did. We didn't feel rushed at all.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kitchjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyPearson2018, General Manager at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Horse & Jockey. We are pleased to hear you all had an enjoyable meal, and were especially impressed with the different gluten free options available. We understand it can sometimes be difficult for our guests with special dietary requirements so we are delighted that we were able to provide a good range of options.

Great to also hear you received impeccable service throughout your visit, I have passed on your lovely comments to the rest of the team.

Thank you once again for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked in for Sunday lunch at 2 and on arrival was quickly shown to our table in the main restaurant and provided with menus.
Lots of choice as many restaurants offer a limited selection on a Sunday.
I had the butcher's block which was a perfect combination for a sunday roast, proper Yorkshire pud too and you get plenty, in fact I couldn't manage it all and when asked, the staff happily boxed up the rest which was equally enjoyed by my partners son later that night.
The service was quick but not pushy and the staff were polite and efficient.
We all had different mains and all was equally enjoyed by our party.
We ordered 2 puddings, a Christmas pudding and white chocolate cheesecake with rhubarb compote which I tried and was amazing.
I was very impressed with the pub, how it's set out and what overall it has to offer. There was a private function on but in no way did it effect us or our service plus theres further seating down stairs in a separate restaurant and all areas seemed to be busy but everything ran smoothly for us.
I would highly recommend and thanks to Tom, he was the perfect host.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Leyroyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyPearson2018, General Manager at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent visit to The Horse & Jockey. It is great to hear you found our Sunday menu to be varied, and you enjoyed your meals and desserts when they arrived.

We're also pleased to hear that you were served efficiently and were well looked after by Tom - I will be sure to make him aware you have mentioned him.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

It is difficult to find good gf breakfasts and this place is a gem. This is a full gf brakfast including GF toast! Very few substitutes and good quality local produce! Definately recommend!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank flicw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyPearson2018, General Manager at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review of The Horse and Jockey.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your GF breakfast. We try to ensure we accommodate all guests and various dietary requirements with our menus and dishes, I know the team are happy to help with anything like this. I will let the team know about your lovely comments

thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
many thanks
Lindsey - Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Stayed for the luxury getaway midweek offer that included a 3 course evening meal with a bottle of house wine, superior room and breakfast in the morning, Good choice of food was available from the evening meal menu and what we had was very nice, the staff were very friendly and attentive, relaxed in the bar after with a Gin & Tonic, Superior room was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. It was help yourself for Cereal, fruit juice, tea or coffee to start breakfast and a good choice of breakfasts was on offer from the menu, we had the full english that again was excellent
Would recommend taking up this offer as we had a great visit

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyPearson2018, General Manager at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review of The Horse and Jockey.

The Luxury getaway package is our most popular package and to here just how much you have enjoyed it is fantastic. It's great to hear about the staff being very friendly and attentive during your visit, I know the team work hard to make sure that they provide our guests with the best possible customer service.
thank you once again for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon
many thanks
Lindsey - Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse & Jockey also viewed

 
Ambergate, Derbyshire
 
Alfreton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Horse & Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing