We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value for money”
Review of Martinos

Martinos
Ranked #81 of 425 Restaurants in Sunderland
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Busy Italian Restaurant with large bar/lounge area located a stones throw from the beach. Open daily from 10am - 11pm serving a good choice of popular Italian cuisine. Lunch is served between 12 - 4pm and dinner is served from 5 - 11pm. Traditional Sunday lunch is served from 12 - 5pm. Starters are priced from £2.95 to £7.95, Mains from £3.95 to £23.95 and Desserts start from £3.95. Kids are more than welcome and kids meals are £3.95 with "Kids Eat Free" offers running daily. The restaurant is very spacious with both open and intimate areas making it the ideal venue for large parties or intimate meals.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb value for money”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I went here with my husband and 3 children for one of their birthdays. We went at 5.00pm and the happy hour was on. We each had a 3 course meal for £4.95 each and they were big adult portions. We were all really full and kids loved it. So did our purse strings

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    126
    72
    56
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, England
1 review
“Let's hope they take notice of this. They didn't of me.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stood in martinos right now paying the bill at the till after waiting 15 minutes for someone to come to the table after waiting 20 minutes for them to take away the finished plates. The food was ok the service appalling. Only tip tonight. Take notice of your customers. There quite important chatting to your mates and carrying bottles of juice about can probably wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crackerhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely food great service”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We decided to try here as had not been before but was recommended to us.
We ate as a family of 2 adults and 2 children and had the three courses for £4.95.
There was enough food to feed an army!!
Staff very friendly and service was excellent! Restaurant was busy but this made no difference to our service or quality of food!!
The only reason I haven't scored 5/5 is we had to ask for cutlery!
Overall excellent experience and well definitely be visiting again in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We enjoyed the value”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Two of us visited at lunchtime for the £4.95 3 course special. Although the service was a bit slow it wasn't really a big problem. We both enjoyed our meals and thought it was great value for money. We could have paid more for fish & chips elsewhere and even Morrison's Cafe would have cost more so we were pleased to be in a nice restaurant with good food. We will certainly call again, it's Value for Money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotchMist2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Ok if there's no other option but there's better restaurants nearby. Staff are welcoming and no the menu well. The pizzas look good but everything else looked overcooked.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martinos also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Martinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing