We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont always let the reviews put you off”
Review of Martinos

Martinos
Ranked #84 of 432 Restaurants in Sunderland
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Busy Italian Restaurant with large bar/lounge area located a stones throw from the beach. Open daily from 10am - 11pm serving a good choice of popular Italian cuisine. Lunch is served between 12 - 4pm and dinner is served from 5 - 11pm. Traditional Sunday lunch is served from 12 - 5pm. Starters are priced from £2.95 to £7.95, Mains from £3.95 to £23.95 and Desserts start from £3.95. Kids are more than welcome and kids meals are £3.95 with "Kids Eat Free" offers running daily. The restaurant is very spacious with both open and intimate areas making it the ideal venue for large parties or intimate meals.
2 reviews
“dont always let the reviews put you off”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

after reading some of the reviews on here i was a bit unsure when my cousin choose here for his leaving do , but by am i glad he did tonight was one of my best nights ever. there was 14 of us and each one of us chose something difrent from the menu we were seated at our table after meeting in the bar first for drinks. the starters were all brought out together and piping hot of which everyone of us enjoyed.Then when we were all finished plates were all gathered and food was digested our mains came out of which again were all brought out together and piping hot the chicken kiev that i choose was the best i have ever tasted there was not one mix up on orders which is very rare on such a big table.A great night was had by all so thank you martinos staff for a great night will be returning .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    127
    74
    57
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Can't rate the food as we didn't get a chance!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

When we were 17 myself and a few of my friends decided to go to martins for some lunch at around 1pm, the moment we stepped through the door we were told to show ID, we said we were just there to eat and we were bluntly told we couldn't eat there as it had a bar...so we went to frankie and benny's (which also has a bar) and had a meal no problemo.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Madsaxmcginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location great value fantastic foods and best if all limoncello x thank you from Linda and Shelley and poodle xx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service? What service?”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went to this place for a meal shortly after 3pm, our first visit in a year. My husband went to the counter, as used to be the normal way to order meals, but was told by the barman who asked where we were seated, to take a seat and someone would come over to take our order. After 5 minutes we were given the bucket with the cutlery and serviettes, so that looked promising.

After 25 minutes of noticing another table getting their meals, empty glasses being removed from another table, a waiter delivered drinks to the next table and totally ignored us as he passed. They weren't busy, one waitress was standing chatting to the girl behind the bar as she was wrapping cutlery into serviettes. We had noticed that the family who had come in 15 minutes after us, taking the table next to ours, had the order taken in 5 minutes and starters were served 5 minutes after that. Being the final straw having to witness that, we left, but I suppose no staff either noticed or missed us, as we had enough evidence that we were - at least to them - invisible.

We note with bemusement that customers such as Damian R have reasonable complaints about the slow service and course timings, yet we were denied even those treats!

We will never again return to this disgraceful apology for a restaurant.until we read reports such as on this site that it has rediscovered its past and returned to being up to diners' moderate expectations of being served food within a reasonable time of placing an order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice food, shame about the service.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have visited this restaurant twice now in last 4 weeks, both occasions they did not have my booking down, food was nice & plentyfull which i will give credit for but the time between starters & meals takes forever & again on both occasions they got the price for the bill wrong which took ages to rectify.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GordyBrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martinos also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Martinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing