We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Sunderland”
Review of Paprika - CLOSED

Paprika
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best food in Sunderland”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I've been here a few times since moving to Sunderland permanently last year and this is probably the best food I've eaten here. It's small and intimate and has a limited menu but it changes with what's seasonably available and there is always a decent variety of dishes on offer. The only criticism I could possibly offer up is that we sometimes have slight difficulty deciphering the handwriting on the menu on the blackboard but we always manage in the end and in a way it adds to the fun of the night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Sunderland”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I have been here numerous times in the past year for lunches and for evening meals and have thoroughly enjoyed every visit!

The place itself is very small and intimate, but in a good way! Feels like you're eating in someone's front room rather than a restaurant, and the service is always top notch.

The best bit is definitely the food however. On our last visit we had the mackerel and chorizo, and the blue cheese with asparagus to start. Both were beautiful! The mains were smoked cod with vine-tomato sauce, and the rump steak. Both were perfectly cooked and prepared and were melt-in-the-mouth delicious!

We're already planning our next visit in a couple of weeks!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Favourite Restaraunt”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We've been going to Paprika for years and love it. It is a small restaraunt and the menu is fairly limited but there is always a vegetarian option and some seafood dishes to choose from. It is very reasonably priced and the food is always outstanding as is the service.

I nearly always get the goats cheese and asparagus starter, the lamb or steak main and the white choc cheesecake for dessert as they are so good but all the dishes are lovely.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Been a few times and I was never disappointed. Very small place but food is very good and fresh.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcie_x76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Excellent food at a reasonable cost. Meat always cooked to perfection. White chocolate cheesecake an absolute must.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paprika also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
East Boldon, Sunderland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing