We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An accidental visit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MarinaVista Ristorante

MarinaVista Ristorante
Ranked #57 of 417 Restaurants in Sunderland
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An accidental visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Friends came to visit. We looked for somewhere to eat and wanted to have a look at the seafront. Whilst considering a restaurant nearby. Then we remembered there was a restaurant at the top of the 'Marina building' In we went up the stairs as we didn't realise there was a lift. We entered and were greeted by Adam. He asked if we had reservations, we didn't. No problem. He asked 'would this table be suitable?' It was. We sat and were given the menus and the normal requests for drinks whilst ordering. We had the Pollo Campagnola, Pollo Bella Vista and the Pollo Milanese. With Bruschetta starter. We asked about the 'Chips' they were fresh potatoes peeled and fried. Immediately we asked for 'brown well done chips!' they arrived with the meal. Brown, nutty and gorgeous. Everything was tasty, full of great flavours and done to a turn. The ambiance was lovely and friendly, the service second to non. All served up in little time. The waiters were attentive but not intrusive. We all agreed we would definitely be back. Non of us had ever been in before. It was great value for money. Most important the 'Happy Hour' menu runs all night from Sunday to Thursday. I would say, if you haven't been try it. Ask for the lift at the reception to save you the stairs. Adam the headwaiter was excellent throughout.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    54
    14
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service dreadful, only interested in regular customers!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had our first visit after it was recommended by someone at work who goes regularly.

We booked a table and arrived on time, after standing for 5 mins we had to approach a waitress to ask where to sit.

We were not given a menu or asked if we wanted any drinks. We stopped a waiter to ask for drinks, he was then told off by the manager for not setting up a table for regulars!!

When we finished our meals they took the plates quickly without asking if we wanted drinks or dessert menu. So we simply went to the bar and paid.

Most of the time there we did see the manager sitting with people he knew. Sums this place up to me and nowi realise why some people keep going back, however I wont be.

If you value good customer service please think twice!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willi3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little Gem hidden up on the 2nd floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have friends who live in the area. If it weren't for them I'm not sure we would have ever found it. Pop into what you think is the reception for the harbourmaster and take the lift to the 2nd floor and behold there is an Italian Restaurant. A very good one too. The menu is as you would expect for a Pizzeria/restaurant. The wine list good and inexpensive the house white that we had was a nice Chardonnay just off dry and nice with pizza. We had Calzone which was full tasty and came with a jug of tomato Bolognese sauce. The risotto was light on the tongue with fresh basil and tomato the lasagne was moist but not runny and had plenty of flavour and not too much garlic. Good service attentive without being intrusive. Two courses with wine came in at just over £20 per head absolutely great value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RTPFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's a while since we dined here and our previous visits have been good, however, our experience this evening was sadly disappointing! All four of us enjoyed our starters and main courses.....well cooked and attractively presented. We eagerly anticipated the dessert menu and we waited.....and waited.....and waited - sadly to no avail! The waiting staff appeared to be fully occupied with preparing tables for the next day and chatting to regular customers, apparently unaware of the other customers in the restaurant! After forty minutes we gave up and requested the bill....and left!
This place could do so much better, in my view. The apparently haphazard role of the staff who appear to wander around unsure of their role or of which tables they are attending must lead to inferior quality service! I have never left a less than positive review before and I am truly reluctant to do so; I hope my observations will lead to some improvement!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dennymenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant.. Mostly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We love going to marina vista, it has lovely views and is really cosy. The starters and mains taste great and there's a good selection to chose from. The deserts are just slop..swimming in cream. They should make more of an effort with the deserts to match up with the rest of the meal. The service is generally great but they have this young girl serving who despite being polite and very friendly, she is quite useless at waitressing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mertine91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MarinaVista Ristorante also viewed

 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to MarinaVista Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing