We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best of a good bunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of April Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
April Guest House
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Sunderland
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best of a good bunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

have stayed here many times as well as many other guesthouses in and around the Roker area.
Everything about the April is 5 star, cleanliness, friendly and accommodating staff, breakfast both in choice and quality, location quiet terrace with ample parking and 2 minutes from the most wonderful beach. Major bus routes easily accessible.
Sounds like we are relations but this is an honest impartial review.

Bill & Lynn
Leicester

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STEVE D, Owner at April Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
It is a pleasure to have people stay who enjoy the homliness of our guest house and feel that we have made them really welcome .See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
9
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We are a large family group of 4 generations who stay at this delightful family B and B every year over the weekend of the great north run. We are made to feel very welcome and the family are very helpful with our arrangements and in recommending places to go and to eat.
This year the guest house has been updated and decorated to a great standard. We have always found the facilities clean and the new decor is great.
The location is a bonus being within 200m of the beach which is lovely, and walking distance to some lovely eating houses.
We will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: All rooms great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STEVE D, Owner at April Guest House, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
It is a pleasure to read comments from guests who appreciate the positives of our establishment. Returning guests become familiar with both ourselves and the surrounding area. As a family run business we have constantly had the same guests for the Great NORTH run and this is one of the high-lights of our year. Look forward to when the newest member of the family does the run !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our 8th visit to the April Guest House being our annual trip to watch or take part in the Great North Run.
Welcome as genuine as ever and service top class. Location is excellent as the Guest House is approximately 200 meters from the pier and a superb beach. City centre, Metro train service [to Newcastle] and Stadium Light all within a couple of miles. We have only explored northwards and coast is superb right up to Bamburgh.
The owners who are Sunderland people through and through are rightly proud of the area and are happy to provide advice on places to eat out and where to go sightseeing.
We have already booked for next year and look forward to being well looked after again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STEVE D, Owner at April Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We appreciate your comments and look forward to meeting and greeting our return guests who become friends as well as customers. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Excellent facilities, really friendly staff can't do enough for you, spotless rooms, really REALLY comfy beds, amazing sea views with sunsets, and finally the breakfast to much food not enough stomach space and very delicious, will defiantly be getting a return visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnymc1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STEVE D, Owner at April Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
A pleasure to have you stay with us,thanks for your comments. LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR RETURN VISIT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I used The April Guest house around 5 years ago for 6 -12 months whilst working in the area on business, I have come back to the area and didn't hesitate to come back.
I got the same friendly welcome and found everthing just as good as before, which is great value for money and good quality accomodation.
I would highly recomend the establishment to everyone.

Andy W Blackburn

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STEVE D, Owner at April Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks Andy it was great to have you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at the April guesthouse.

This is the second time I have stayed here and on both occasions the room has been well presented and kept to a high standard of cleanliness.

The staff were very helpful during the stay and made the booking very easy.

Hoping my company continues to work in the area as I look forward to staying here again. Will recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADY-catalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at this guest house and wonder whether the reviewer from 11 July actually stayed at the same place!!! yes there are one or two stains on the stair carpet but nothing of any significance - I understand the carpet is due for replacement in the next month anyway.

As far as the room was concerned it was spotless and very comfortable - I feel the unhappy reviewer but have come accompanied with microscope and fine tooth comb.

My main purpose of placing this review is to reassure that despite the negative comments they have nothing to concern themselves about if/when booking here.

Dave Torquay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 11 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sunderland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
5.3 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to April Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about April Guest House

Property: April Guest House
Address: 12 St. Georges Terrace | Roker, Sunderland SR6 9LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — April Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star tourist board rated, family run guesthouse. The property is close to the sea front and is ideally situated for local attractions such as Sunderland University, Stadium of Light, Nissan, Washington Wetlands and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your April Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing