We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to stay in Sunderland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayfield Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was my third stay at the Mayfield. You cannot find a better value and location. The rooms are clean and comfortable with Vince cooking a made to order breakfast each day. The North Sea is just two block from the hotel and there are great walking paths along the sea. I am looking forward to my next stay at the Mayfield!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, some have veiws of the North Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

As a family of four having stayed here for 4 nights, we have found this place delightful and Vince the owner & staff most friendly and helpful. It is close to the beach for morning walks/jogs and convenient for access to National Glass and Sunderland city centre. The place was tidy, clean and breakfast consistently excellent. Public laundry facilities and decent cafes just 5 mins drive or 15 mins walks. Thanks for the warm and friendly North Eastern hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar_oz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have just spent 3 very comfortable nights at this wonderful establishment. Vincent is very helpful and cooks a wonderful breakfast. My personal view is that you would be very hard pushed to find a more friendly establishment or better value for money. If i have cause to visit Sunderland again (which i hope i will) then i shall definitely be staying here. It is ideally situated for some really nice restaurants, also a great place if you enjoy a walk. The bus services are also very good and stop very near to the The Mayfield. I found Vincent and his family and staff very friendly. I would recommend the Mayfield to anyone. 5 Stars Vincent and co. You deserve them.

Room Tip: I had a front room with a view of the sea but would have been happy with any room. Such was the qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freddie_Morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed for four days while visiting the area and the inn was the right place to be. We stayed in a front room overlooking a park and then on to the sea and the lighthouse.

Vincent, the owner and inn keeper, was most hospitable and cooks a great breakfast. The staff is very responsive to any request.

We were very comfortable during our stay. It was great to wake up there and great to return at the end of a day of touring the area.

There are plenty of good restaurants within short walking distance for dinner.

Room Tip: ask for the front room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The Mayfield is a small guest house just two minutes walk from the beach at Seaburn. I don't normally stay in guest houses, but I couldn't fault this place at all. The room I stayed in was a twin room with an en-suite bathroom. Both rooms were spotless. The bed (I only used one) was very comfortable, and there was a nice modern flatscreen TV with a huge host of channels. The bathroom had both a bath and a shower mounted above it, and was clean and well-appointed. Breakfast was included in the price and was absolutely delicious, and service was both polite and discreet.
I was staying here as I was visiting Sunderland. Seaburn is only a couple of stops on the metro, or a short bus / taxi / car journey. Seaburn itself is at the end of the C2C route, and the beach is beautfully clean. There's probably not that much to do in Seaburn itself once you've walked up and down the seafront and watched the sea a bit, but it's a perfectly good base to explore the region from, and the Mayfield has it's own parking.
I paid £35 per night here. It's worth pointing out that you will often pay more than this to stay at the frankly disgusting and worn-out Travelodge in central Sunderland, and way more for the Seaburn Marriott which is also showing it's age (I've stayed in both). I'm a frequent traveller to Sunderland, and I know where I'll be staying next time I'm back there.

Room Tip: Ground floor room #1 has bath and shower en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NotOnTwitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was a great experience and value for money. The breakfast is good. The suite was like stepping back in time in a good way. the owners and staff were some of the most helpful and friendly people I had ever come across. I shared a beer (one i normally would not share!) with the boss as I liked his company a fair amount. The breadth of customer also made it a pretty interesting place to stay. For the price this is the best place I have stayed in a decade. I had authentic uk ales and food close by. even ducked off to edinburgh one day. Perfect for a 4 to 7 day stay. 12 out 10 here for the authentic experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b_w2011euro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Enjoyed a weekend at the mayfield. Rooms are clean and tidy and a good breakfast is served. Proprietors could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgerWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0 mi away
Lemonfield Hotel
Lemonfield Hotel
#1 of 17 in Sunderland
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
0.6 mi away
Roker Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Guesthouse

Address: Seaburn Sea Lane, Sunderland SR6 8EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range: $72 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfield Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star family-run guest house in the quiet and attractive resort of Seaburn in Sunderland, ideally situated for beach walks and the many bars and restaurants on the seafront promenade.We offer a warm welcome anyone visiting Sunderland or the North East of England looking for a pleasantly located base to stay whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mayfield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing