We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault the Mayfield!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayfield Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 16 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The Mayfield is a small guest house just two minutes walk from the beach at Seaburn. I don't normally stay in guest houses, but I couldn't fault this place at all. The room I stayed in was a twin room with an en-suite bathroom. Both rooms were spotless. The bed (I only used one) was very comfortable, and there was a nice modern flatscreen TV with a huge host of channels. The bathroom had both a bath and a shower mounted above it, and was clean and well-appointed. Breakfast was included in the price and was absolutely delicious, and service was both polite and discreet.
I was staying here as I was visiting Sunderland. Seaburn is only a couple of stops on the metro, or a short bus / taxi / car journey. Seaburn itself is at the end of the C2C route, and the beach is beautfully clean. There's probably not that much to do in Seaburn itself once you've walked up and down the seafront and watched the sea a bit, but it's a perfectly good base to explore the region from, and the Mayfield has it's own parking.
I paid £35 per night here. It's worth pointing out that you will often pay more than this to stay at the frankly disgusting and worn-out Travelodge in central Sunderland, and way more for the Seaburn Marriott which is also showing it's age (I've stayed in both). I'm a frequent traveller to Sunderland, and I know where I'll be staying next time I'm back there.

Room Tip: Ground floor room #1 has bath and shower en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NotOnTwitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was a great experience and value for money. The breakfast is good. The suite was like stepping back in time in a good way. the owners and staff were some of the most helpful and friendly people I had ever come across. I shared a beer (one i normally would not share!) with the boss as I liked his company a fair amount. The breadth of customer also made it a pretty interesting place to stay. For the price this is the best place I have stayed in a decade. I had authentic uk ales and food close by. even ducked off to edinburgh one day. Perfect for a 4 to 7 day stay. 12 out 10 here for the authentic experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b_w2011euro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Enjoyed a weekend at the mayfield. Rooms are clean and tidy and a good breakfast is served. Proprietors could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgerWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Just back from a 2 day break at the Mayfield and was very happy with our stay there we had a room over looking the green and sea ,our host Vince was very welcoming and friendly.
The full english breakfast was plentiful and set you up for the day though there was a choice of cereals etc if you wanted that.
Overall the Mayfield is good value for money and we would stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jam3587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Right on the seafront at Seaburn just outside Sunderland. Good parking, easy access (10 mins) to the Metro so you can get all up and down the Northeast by Metro, bus or train.

Very clean and comfortable, excellent breakfasts, wi-fi, all mod cons.
Highly recommended.
Great value

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris93_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed for 3 mights while visiting relatives in the area. A very pleasant B&B, excellent value for money, friendly hosts. No parking problems. Good breakfast, and it made a pleasant change not to have to decide the night before what we wanted next morning! Our room was a good size, lovely and warm, bed comfortable, lots of storage space. Everything very clean. A few minor niggles: could have done with more or bigger towels, not really adequate for two not very slim adults; WiFi wasn't free; TV had only basic channels, no freeview, no teletext, and not easy to watch from the bed, being low down. But we enjoyed our stay, despite pretty awful weather, and will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violet1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldguesthouse, Owner at Mayfield Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

As the owner I would just like to respond and say that wifi connection is free and we are intending to but flat screen free view TVs in all the rooms asap(currently 4 out of 10 rooms have them).
Anyone requiring extra towels would be provided with as many as desired.

Thanks for the comments though.
Vince Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stayed at the Mayfield for 3 nights during a Sealed Knot Muster at Hylton Castle where we were re-enacting a 17th Century battle. I was greeted at the door by Vince who carried my case to my room for me and showed me everything I needed to have explained about the room and amenities within it. Breakfast the first morning was cooked to perfection and hearty enough for anyone. I loved my stay in the four poster, sea-view room and would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a homely atmosphere. Not everything is ultra modern but certainly sufficient for my purposes and I intend to stay again should we every be in the area again, which is highly possible - thank you Vince!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladydiam0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
746 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
434 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roker Hotel
Roker Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sunderland
91 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lemonfield Hotel
Lemonfield Hotel
#1 of 16 in Sunderland
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Guesthouse

Address: Seaburn Sea Lane, Sunderland SR6 8EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range: $76 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfield Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star family-run guest house in the quiet and attractive resort of Seaburn in Sunderland, ideally situated for beach walks and the many bars and restaurants on the seafront promenade.We offer a warm welcome anyone visiting Sunderland or the North East of England looking for a pleasantly located base to stay whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mayfield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing