We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Xmas night out”
Review of Olive Affaire

Olive Affaire
Ranked #13 of 421 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are an authentic Greek family run business, we provide a selection of Greek dishes, wines and beers and a great atmosphere. We are a Cafe Bistro Restaurant and provide good home cooked food at a very reasonable price. We also cater for weddings, business lunches, and other such occasions. You won't leave hungry. We do ask for your patience while waiting for your food as everything is cooked from fresh and we are proud of our quality and authenticity.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Xmas night out”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Myself and 20 colleagues had our Xmas night out here on Tuesday 10th December. What a fantastic night. Everyone joined in the traditional mezze which just seemed endless and oh so tasty. The atmosphere was brilliant and the service spot on. We were even treated to some traditional Greek dancing by the owner.

Margaret P

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    29
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“delicious and authentic”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

we visited olive affaire in early november after stumbling across it here on tripadvisor. we popped in on the afternoon and the friendly staff were only too happy to book us a table for two for an evening meal. when we arrived a party of around 12 were celebrating together and we were the only other diners. the service was friendly but not overbearing. we were given ample time to select from the menu. we chose the kleftico a dish that my husband loves and it did not dissapoint. beautifully cooked and tasted absolutley delicious. we sampled the baklava for pudding and again could not fault it. we heartily recommend olive affaire and hope others who read these reviews and pay a visit spread the word about this hidden gem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coobzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average Delivery”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I ordered a chicken wrap and ceaser salad. The wrap was luke-warm, probably due to the fact the delivery driver told me she was outside, and I went to the front door, only to see her drive up. I rang the restaurant to ask where she was and was told to wait as they didn't have her number. The wrap was flavour-some and the chicken was delicious, although it also had chips in it, which I wasn't expecting. The ceaser salad was lettuce, tomato and bacon lardons. I think it also had croutons, but they were so harshly fried they tasted of simply oil. It was also not covered in ceaser dressing, but salad cream. The meal was essentially disappointing and based on the quality of the food I am not sure I would order again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kblenks19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've been there with my wife on Saturday to celebrate our 22th anniversary. Took the table close to fireplace as we did on our first meal 22 years before! Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff and the owners made our night so special with some extra halvas! We both ordered greek authentic meze and it was really excellent! Especially stifado and seafood salad it was unbelievable. Honestly, the place to be in Sunderland!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This was a real find. We tried it on thursday evening after a trip to the cinema and were delighted with the authentic and delicious greek food on offer as well as the excellent, friendly service we received.
We went for the meze for three and ate ourselves to a standstill with the lovely array of dishes, all delivered in a prompt, but not rushed, manner.
We will definitely be back soon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hairgone_Ronay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Affaire also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Olive Affaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing