We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley Fab”

The Lounge Bistro & Bar
Ranked #75 of 427 Restaurants in Sunderland
Price range: $7 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At City Bistro we provide a showcase for the next generation of chefs, demonstrating their talent and skill through creative cuisine and delicious dishes. Our menu covers a range of cooking styles using fresh, locally sourced ingredients, carefully selected to reflect the seasonal changes. For our latest menus, please give us a call. As a training restaurant we pride ourselves on providing a first-class dining experience to give our talented catering students, led by our experienced Head Chef, the best possible learning experience. This allows us to offer our quality food at a price few can match. As a fully licensed restaurant we also sell a selection of drinks and carefully selected wines.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutley Fab”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lovely restaraunt with great food. Service is brilliant. Would definitely go again and will be reccomending to my family and friends

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickys99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelvedon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everyone should go”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This restaurant is fantastic and everyone should go. The food was exceptional. I had chicken fajitas and the chicken was wonderfully cooked The service was great and it's amazing value for money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely ! A must too try!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a lovely meal ! We had salmon for starts ,chicken for mains , soufle for pud, all top class highly recommended ,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jezabelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem! (please keep it a secret!)”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I first heard of this place a couple of months ago from someone at work. I work about 2 minutes drive from the colleges Bistro and me and my work colleagues eat there at least twice a week now in our lunch hour! The food is fabulous, great value and great service! We pre order our lunch with the lovely cathrine on the morning and its ready for us when we arrive. On the rare occasion we haven’t had time to stay it can be packed up as a takeaway! Perfect! Ive also eaten here on an evening when the Bistro morphs into a fine dining restaurant. Ive had veal, venison, partridge, wood pigeon and quail to name but a few (not all on the same night!!) my wife is a vegetarian and there is also plenty of options for her. Top quality, great value for money and excellent service. Cannot be faulted.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 138mwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality Food, quality venue”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have thoroughly enjoyed lunches and themed evenings at The Lounge. The students and staff are helpful and eager to please their customers. The food is excellent and the restaurant is spacious and chic.The recent Burn's Night was brilliant - apart from the excellent scottish cuisine I particularly enjoyed being piped into the restaurant by the wonderful scottish piper. If you are looking for quality food at a great price, the Lounge is highly recommended. It is a thrill to see the students learning their skills while delivering a professional restaurant experience!. I'm looking forward to the next themed evening and vintage afternoon tea!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lounge Bistro & Bar also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Lounge Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing