We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on”
Review of The Mad Hatter

The Mad Hatter
Ranked #30 of 427 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Come here on a Sunday for our breakfast and food and service is always the best and would recommend this place to anyone!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Pip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    25
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You'd be 'Mad' not to try it.”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Mad Hatter is a small and friendly cafe at the seaside end of Sea Road. Because of its popularity it can seem full but we have never had to wait more than a few minutes- chairs provided- and it has always been worth the wait. Book ahead and you may find your table has been reserved or reversed for you.
The food is good, home cooking with a variety of tasty pies, roasts, fish and tremendous chips as well as more adventurous fare. Homemade puddings are good too.The waitresses are efficient and helpful. The Mad Hatter theme is in evidence in the cafe but not overdone. Reading the Thank You cards displayed in the loo it is obvious that people choose the Mad Hatter for a range of special occasions and they also do outside catering. Stop there for a great lunch before you continue on to the coast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank decafgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whickham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a tea party!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had spent the morning swimming at the Sunderland Aquatic Centre (also fantastic) and the children were starving, so we consulted Trip Advisor and landed at the quirkley named The Mad Hatter and what a discovery! From the warm cosy interior and cheerful smiles of the welcoming staff, there was an obvious vibe inside that definitely enhanced the smell from the kitchen. We had a selection of hot meals from the specials board and the home made corned beef pie, Mince and Leek pudding and children's fish fingers all came plentiful, hot and of high quality. Strawberry eton mess and a delightful and unique, according to my wife, cinder toffee sundae finished off a really enjoyable meal and at just over £30 for 2 courses plus drinks for a family of 4 it was excellent value. We woudl recommend and return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 464blackcat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Another treat here I'm never disappointed”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Return visit for us this time I took my family for Saturday afternoon late lunch.
Table was reserved for us although a small place plenty of room at table.
We all struggled to choose what to have so many nice choices there were 5 of us we opted for
Fish and chips - lovely crisp batter tasty white fish and as always fab chips.
Cod bites chips and peas -as above and really good.
Hand carved ham salads these are just lovely crisp tasty coleslaw home made chops and delicious ham and salad.
Steak pie and chips - beautiful homemade pastry it the nicest filing huge chunky pieces of gorgeous melt in the mouth steak.
Only criticism chips are a small portion but this doesn't detract from the love home cooked food.
Staff as always so friendly and attentive.
My next try will be a Sunday lunch
Love this quirky little cafe

Helpful?
5 Thank Lafybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I took my elderly father to this venue yesterday on the way a show at the Empire Theatre in Sunderland. Staff were most helpful when I phoned in advance to book a table and the welcome and excellent level of service continued throughout our visit. Nothing was too much trouble. The gluten free menu (for dad) was the best I have found anywhere and meant he could choose something he really fancied to eat rather than just 'making do'. We both really enjoyed our lunch. The facilities were excellent. I can't wait to return for a second visit. Highly recommended, especially for anyone requiring a gluten free menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 246JEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Hatter also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Mad Hatter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing