We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere”

Signatures Italian Restaurant and Grill
Ranked #34 of 433 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Signatures Italian Restaurant and Grill is an ideal venue for large groups, families and couples alike with large booths and the cosy red room for romantic meals or special occasions. Our menu offers something for everyone whether you fancy something 'cheap and cheerful' or a succulent Fillet Steak (our Signature Fillet is a must). We pride ourselves on our great food and service by our friendly staff and were thrilled to be voted as one of the top 5 restaurants in Sunderland for 2012 by the Sunderland Echo. Adjoining is The Castle Bar, a modern yet relaxed bar which is ideal for enjoying pre or post dinner drinks.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Enjoyed a pleasant evening with friends.Really good food and service.The atmosphere was relaxed and you were not rushed to leave the table.Would definitely visit again, but must agree that although the seating is extremely comfortable, the decor is missing the Italian feel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    34
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“great food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just tried this new local Italian Restaurant. Mixed feelings... but food great. My problem is eventhough you can see the owner is trying it still looks and feels like a old social club. What i mean by trying, is the decor. Possitives, nice furniture, blinds, pictures and good staff. What is needed is the Italian feel, definitely get rid of the old tiled ceiling and the non italian music ie Mick Hutnell and Phil Collins. Got an ideal sized stage not too large would be ideal to show case live easy music. Stop locals wandering in dressed in tracksuit looking for "Dave"......not comfortable when eating your meal. More Italian feel with more pictures or ornaments hanging from the walls or ceiling. Room lighting too bright needs to be toned down especially in the evening. Cutlery and dinnerservice very nice but small things like faded number tags placed on the table. All in all pleasant evening but could be a lot more comfortable, given time i'm sure it will be a real asset to the local area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john james R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My son and daughter took me for Mother's Day the food was absolutely gorgeous , staff were very friendly ,
Have to go back to try the Italian and its in walking distance from where I live . I'm not surprised you have to book

Helpful?
Thank Bev1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant and it was a very positive experience. Staff are smiling, helpful and prompt despite being constantly on the go. Food is fantastic - they could charge more for this quality. Obviously popular. Good atmosphere.
Only minor negatives are that the sound system is a bit intrusive if you are placed directly in front of a speaker (we were moved on request with no hassle) and the toilet was somewhere to visit briefly or not at all.
We would certainly make the trek across the whole of Sunderland bypassing other excellent establishments to eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signatures_Italian, Owner at Signatures Italian Restaurant and Grill, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and found the staff to be friendly and attentive on your recent visit to Signatures.

I recognise that there is a problem with the music system in the restaurtant. As the system is at the front of the room, inevitably it is louder the closer you are to it and often one song can be quiet and not heard but the next is too loud. I can assure you that I am in the process of investing in a new system that will have speakers evenly spaced around the restaurant to ensure a constant, softer level of music throughout. Many people have commented on the good and varied choice of songs played and I would like everyone to enjoy them at the right level.

Admitadly, the gent's toilets are not to the same standard as the ladies, however, this will soon be changing as the toilets are having a revamp shortly and I can assure you they will more accurately reflect the standard of decor in the restaurant and bar.

I do hope these small indescrepencies will not put you off visiting us again and that you will continue to dine with us and see these changes and more occur as we grow.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Whilst visiting friends and family up in Sunderland, we went on reccomendation. We were not disappointed. The food was gorgeous and nothing was to much trouble. We had a mixed starters including Garlic Bread, Mushrooms, Pate, Brushetta and Mussels and we couldnt fault any of it. For mains we had Sirloin Steak, Calzone and Chicken, all were delicious and we had never tasted sirloin so tender. The prices are fantastic, the food is amazing and the staff couldnt do enough for you. Would highly recommend Signatures.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephhartburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signatures Italian Restaurant and Grill also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Signatures Italian Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing