We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“welcome change” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Rio

Casa Rio
Ranked #246 of 417 Restaurants in Sunderland
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“welcome change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

we visited this place after getting a very good living social deal and found the staff to be very polite. The decor was tasteful and the dishes and wine were all very nicely presented and tasted good too! The restuarant was a very nice change from the usual offerngs and I hope it does well!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yumyum83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    19
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great tapas- cold room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited new Casa Rio in west sunniside for lunch today. We had a discount voucher (any 6 tapas from their extensive menu), which we had purchased for only £12 and decided to have a slap up lunch as a post Christmas treat. The tapas were equally as good as any we've had anywhere in Spain and the service was good. The food was well presented and good quality, fresh produce and the total bill for 1 child's meal, 1 glass of red wine, 1 bottle of San Miguel and a lemonade, 8 assorted tapas and 1 adult dessert was only £27 (plus the cost of the prepaid voucher, so £39 in total). A nice change from the usual Italian, Indian and Chinese fayre readily available in Sunderland town centre. The mussels with tomato and chorizo sauce and the sweet/spicy belly pork were the highlights although everything was great. The only slight minus was that the room was chilly, but I suppose the rooms would warm up as the day progressed (it was only 12.30 and the place had only opened at 12), and it's probably a nightmare to heat these old buildings.
Anyway, many thanks- we will return soon.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MackemSpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Very intimate venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Enjoyed our visit to casa rio, food was served remarkably quick, but was fantastic, we had Tapa's - pork belly (Seasoning was sublime, would like to see this placed on other meats), Beef Stew was melt in your mouth, the houmous with pita were very nice all home made. We had a bread board with a selection of bread and balsamic dip.

Would definitely visit again, it was very reasonably priced and food was great!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank graeme s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Tasty food, great service, nice atmosphere (lovely spanish music). I would thoroughly recommend it. They are open evening and lunchtimes and have happy hour deals are from 5-6pm.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CatriCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Traditional Spanish Tappas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Lovely friendly atmosphere, good food at a reasonable price. Happy hour deals and good menu. Caters for vegetarians well - would recommend. Helpful and friendly staff!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Rio also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Casa Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing