We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roker Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$84
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roker Hotel, BW Premier Collection(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
    $68
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
    $71
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Seaham Hall(Seaham)
    $355
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Travelodge
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (56)
    Filter reviews
    56 results
    Traveler rating
    5
    9
    12
    5
    25
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    5
    9
    12
    5
    25
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    52 - 56 of 56 reviews
    Reviewed December 31, 2012

    Stayed in sister hotel to Best Western Sunderland the Roker Lodge Saturday for a function at the hotel. Rooms were quite big, clean and warm. A good hearty breakfast was served in the main Best Western next door. No real complaints about the stay except the rooms were quite noisy and you can hear all other guests movements, including doors banging and people walking up and down the staircase. What was quite off putting was a couple of foreign immigrants sitting on the stairs at 3am eating Pot Noodles in their pyjamas...what are they doing wandering about at this time? I would imagine this would be quite intimidating if you weren't 6'3. Quite a nice stay all-the-same.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Paul W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 10, 2012

    I was a bit iffy when I seen the outside of the hotel but when we went inside it was clean and war especially with the cold weather outside. It has nothing spectactular but all we needed was a bed for a couple of nights. The rooms were lovely and warm had a lovely view over the seafront but the advantage is we had use of the facilities of the Best Wetern hotel which is next door which also included Residents bar which came in handy.
    Good spot for a cheap weekend away or to stay over if travelling to the matches as close enough to Stadium of Light.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank larco1979
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 8, 2012

    We were really happy with our spacious family room at roker lodge. we had a lovely view of the coast out of the bay window. The room itself had two double beds and two single beds, all very comfortable and the room was very spacious. It was clean and tidy and a good base. Would definately recommend this lodge, cheap and cheerful!! Certainly would return and are planning a trip back in the near future.

    • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank thbygal86
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 2, 2012

    All we wanted was an overnight stay in a clean, safe and reasonably priced hotel as we were spending the evening at the Sunderland Empire.
    We arrived at Roker Lodge to find a pretty grotty looking annex to Roker Hotel (Best Western) with a couple of dubious 'guests' sitting on the front steps smoking and drinking cans of Special Brew. I asked whether we checked in at the lodge or at the Roker Hotel and the vacant look back and conversation between the two individuals confirmed them as foreign and I strongly suspect immigrants being housed by the council. The oversized scruffy bloke staring out of his 5 bedded room in his string vest was most probably one of the same kind also.
    Having checked in at the hotel we entered the lodge to find more dodgy individuals moving around the corridors with plenty of noise coming from plenty of rooms. Our room had all the facilities were as advertised ... clean linen and towels, tea and coffee making and a small tv but it was very small and simply didn't feel comfortable or particularly safe .... so we turned round and returned to Roker Hotel to check stright back out. Not impressed.

    • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SMJH1964
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews