We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the roker hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Roker Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My stay at the roker hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stay at the hotel in january when I arrived at the hotel I had a very warm greeting by the receptionist. I went up to my room it was very spacious and clean I booked in to the Thai china restaurant and the food was fantastic and great service. Will defiantly go back

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliehughes252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    229
    116
    68
    93
See reviews for
162
223
32
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Recently visited for a xmas party including overnight stay. excellent value for money at £60 per person which included a 3 course meal, overnight stay including breakfast and drinks included in the price up until 11pm. The hotel itself is clean the room was adequate nicely decorated slight problem with no hot water but this didnt matter as we were ready for the night anyway and the water was very hot the next morning. Rooms equipped with and iron and hairdryer which is always useful and tea and coffee making facilities. All in all a very enjoyable evening. The only downside were the queues at the bar, but with free drinks I wouldnt have expected anything else. WIll definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtait2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Underneath the bedroom was a disco-bar. The bedroom throbbed and pulsed to the bass from the DJ. This disco bar was more than half empty and it was one of those stupid amateur DJs, who pumps up the volume when the crowd departs in boredom. First I was told there were no other rooms, then after a long weary wait I was brought to an attic room in their annex, fifty yards down the wind-swept sea-front. I slept there like a baby, but next day was shivering - there'd been no heating in this annex. The night porter who escored me to the annex was kind and civil - the rest of the staff were disgraceful, and the day manager sneered at me when I was bringing back the keys. Breakfast includes fried leather calling itself bacon, and cinders which may once have been black pudding. In my haste to get away I left a shirt behind. I've written twice to a general manager, Tracey, and after more than a week haven't had the minimal courtesy of an acknowledgment,, not to talk of a reply.
This was once a quaint hotel, its oddities redeemed by friendly and helpful staff. Now the staff appear to be all in hiding. Since it was taken over by Best Western, its prices are pretentious and its service a disgrace. There are pleasant guest houses in the same terrace of half the price, and there's an upmarket Marriot down the road. No one in their right mind should bother with the Roker anymore.
I'd suppose the terrible disco bar is evidence the place is financially strapped and has an ignorant management which doesn't know where to turn - whether to be a third-rate nightclub or a second-rate hotel. Awful!

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank wilcza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunderland hotels

northampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Its not an attractivelooking hotel from the outside, it looks like its an amalgamation of a number of houses that have been aquired and knocked through. Saying that the hotel has a lot going for it.

The staff and the recption were welcoming friendly and efficient. i,ve now stayed here twice and both times the rooms were clean and well decorated with modern furniture and attractive fittings. Flat screen tv with seperate didgi box. A welcome tray with biscuits and plenty of drink sachets. A warning the hot water is extremely hot and could even be dangerouse, becareful in the shower. The hotel would do well to put up notices.

I've eaten now in both restaraunts an italian in the basement . Good selection on the menu and well cooked and attractive surroundings they had a special deal for early evenings that virtually halved the price on the menu.
I Tried the tavistock oriental restaruant this time the food was well cooked and tasty . Would highly recommend the jungle curry a tai curry which was extremely hot but full of flavour . The staff in the restaraunt should have been more attentive but the place was busy and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselevs.
My colleauge did suffer from noisy guests in the corridor during the early hours my tip always take some ear plugs never fails . Breakfast help yourself servery with a fantastic view weather permitting of the sea ...
will go back if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotogni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I arrived at this hotel just as it was getting dark so didn't see much of the view but it was right on the seafront so location-wise seemed a good bet if you want to be right on the coast. The car park looked fairly big but quite busy, not a problem for me as I arrived by taxi as the metro station is too far a walk.

I entered the hotel and my check in was dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner. I was advised to take the lift as I had a case with me. On leaving the lift it was still not an easy journey to my room along a rabbit warren of corridors and steps. There was a faint unpleasant odour as well.

On entering my room not only did the smell get stronger (I think perhaps it used to be a smoking room and they've tried to mask it with some kind of air freshener?) but it was like stepping into an oven! I took a look around my small and slightly odd room (113). Three steps led down to my bathroom, on entering this I discovered it was equally as hot, so much so that the bath was actually very warm to touch.

I had been booked a single room and the bed was a very dilapidated divan that they had tried to spruce up with more modern bedding. However on sitting on it it did not feel all that sturdy and the mattress was rather lumpy. The carpet also looked somewhat questionable in terms of cleanliness - more because it was rather old than because an effort hadn't been made.

Thinking I had been unlucky I asked to swap rooms and this was dealt with quickly and efficiently without any fuss. My next room however was little better. It was still incredible hot, what initially looked like a large double bed was actually two more of the old single divans pushed together and again the carpet definitely could do with replacing. I don't know why this hotel is so hot, I tried opening the windows but to no effect and woke up a number of times during the night due to the heat.

As it was a Monday night the Thai restaurant was closed, which was a shame as I would have liked to have tried it out as the taxi driver mentioned it being good. Instead I went to the hotel's Italian restaurant. I found it very strange to have to go out the front door and back into the restaurant that was also underground. Again the staff were friendly and efficient but didn't have a lot to work with. I was not too hungry so chose some sole goujons with a side salad; the batter was very soggy but the sole itself was nice.

On check-out the following morning the hotel tried charging me for the room, which had been arranged to be paid for by the company who booked it for me, but the Receptionist dealt problem with this quickly along with the ordering of my taxi.

The only good points about this hotel are the location and the staff, everything else was pretty poor and I would never go back and it has seriously damaged any credibility Best Western had in my mind.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alliei80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Spent one night here, the room had all the things I like, loads of pillows and towels. We were very comfortable and I would definitely stay again. The receptionist was vey helpful, I had been worried by the reviews and possibly weekend stays are noisy because of bar noise, we stayed on a monday night and it was the best nights sleep I had had in ages, the Italian restaurant next door is not to be missed, superb.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I recently had a weeks stay at the Roker whilst in Sunderland on business. After reading some of the reviews on here i was dreading it but it is no where near as bad as some suggest If your just there to sleep the rooms are adequate though it is near impossible to shower without creating a flood in the bathroom and its unusual to find the tea and coffee tray in the wardrobe! I had a room which doubled as the fire escape which was bit unnerving and as it was on the top floor a little warm but because of the fire escape i couldnt leave the window open whilst out.. The hotel is in a good location with good views from the terrace and the food in the bar is fine. The hotels biggest plus point is the onsite italian restaurant which serves excellant food with a massive choice

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybeaches02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
0.1 mi away
April Guest House
April Guest House
#9 of 10 in Sunderland
43 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Roker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Roker Hotel

Property: Best Western Roker Hotel
Address: Roker Terrace, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Roker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Roker Hotel is situated overlooking the North Sea & Roker Pier. Boasting 43 boutique style bedrooms and 2 function venues for events for up to 350 people, suitable for weddings, corporate dinners, charity events, christenings and much more, we also house three bustling eating and drinking establishments. Open to residents and non-residents alike Let There Be Crumbs tearoom, Poetic License bar and Italian Farmhouse restaurant can all be enjoyed under our one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Roker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunderland
Roker Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing