We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt as though I was a million miles away at a bargin price!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Felt as though I was a million miles away at a bargin price!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend got notified of a deal at this hotel last minute.(.An overnight stay including 3 course meal & breakfast) £50 per couple!!!how could you refuse that..we arrived on a Sunday but we was UN aware of a marathon that was taken place all through the streets of Sunderland,hmm not a great start as we had to sit for over 40mins waiting in the car on the outskirts of town until the roads reopened!!maybe at the time of booking the receptionist should have made us aware not to drive n check in after the run had finished,so please check yourself if any hold ups.anyways just an error,on arriving,ample private parking,reception small but very nice to the eye.room was at end of a corridor,nice smells on the stairs,again decor very nice!!our room was on the small side with view behind a netted curtain was of a rooftop and brick building,but for the bargin we got I wasn't to complain,we not in the room long enough,next I would upgrade though to seaview slightly larger room.the room was spotless,bright,very modern,bathroom lovely,laminate floor,small desk,wardrobe,bedside cabinets,plenty mirrors,small plasma tv on wall,iron board,iron,tea n coffee facilities,nice fresh fluffy towels!!ideal room for quick get away or business trip but like I said id prefer to pay the upgrade.the hotel is joined to a tavistock,food and drinks.we walked in and we was most pleasantly surprised,the decor was up to date,cosy,very big,nice cocktails,views across the road of roker beach and pier!!we booked our table for downstairs Italian restaurant 8pm.and wow!!it is beautiful!!it was like stepping back in time very new very swish,very special,food wine,music the service cudnt fault it!definitely return.next day we had breakfast help yourself to cereals,juice,toast,pastries,waitress serves you full English,tea and coffees,every pleasant.it was very quiet so quick service.checked out and cudnt leave without walking along the pier got fresh air!!I would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurants to anyone visiting.great location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and felt that you were a million miles away!

The roads to the front of the hotel should have reropened at 1.30pm and we were informed by the organisers that access would be given to guests of the hotel should they have requested this, I apologise on their behalf that this did not happen.

I will certainly pass your kind comments to the staff who looked after you during your stay.

Once again a huge thank you for your review and custom and we look forwarding to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    224
    110
    66
    92
See reviews for
158
216
31
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night (Sun) on special deal the hotel often have at quiet times.
Can't fault the location...right on the sea front with views out to Roker pier.
The front of the hotel could have done with a lick of paint but once inside it looks more than presentable.
The room was ok I guess, basic, at the end of a corridor with no view as such, although we were'nt expecting too much as we were told we could'nt have a sea view room on the 3 course Dinner / B&B deal. If we were to go again I would certainly upgrade to a sea view room.
The evening meal from the set menu in the hotels Italian restaurant was lovely in nice surroundings as was the breakfast.
Overall a most enjoyable stay.
I would just like to point out however, our break didnt exactly get off to the best start. We booked the room over the phone midweek to arrive Sunday....the receptionist failed to tell us that there was a marathon that day and the sea front roads were closed ! Ended up hanging around a side street for an hour or so until they reopened at about 5pm. !

Room Tip: Sea view or forget it
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saxman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and found the break to be very good value for money.

I am delighted to inform you that the front of the building has been fully painted and now looks amazing!

The roads to the front of the hotel should have reropened at 1.30pm and we were informed by the organisers that access would be given to guests of the hotel should they have requested this, I apologise on their behalf that this did not happen.

Once again a huge thank you for your review and custom and we look forwarding to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

As another reviewer (Phil B) remarks, the hot water pipes pipes run along the inside of the room, and although the heating was off, the room was stifling as it was the hottest day of the year (First May Bank Holiday Monday)
We were in 112, and the room was more than adequate, and the bathroom twice the size it needed to be. If only hotels would man-up and explain that certain rooms have disadvantages (I know, I know, they are not going to do that or no one would stay!) The hot water was dangerously hot, with a serious scalding risk here, something the hotel need to address. A child could be scarred for life as the water pressure is ridiculously high.
As it was a weekday when we checked out, breakfast was 'cooked to order'
It wasn't really, it was served to order. The plate was hotter than the food. All the items had clearly been cooked some minutes, if not hours before and kept warm, just.
Beats me why hotels cannot get this right, it is an integral part of anyones stay and should be right.
It is not exactly culinary wizardry to put a fresh egg, a sausage, a tomato, a hash brown and a spoonful of beans and musrooms on a plate now is it??
Adequate, but disappointing.

Room Tip: Depending on time of year, ask when booking about the hot water pipes, it makes all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crakajak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to read that you found your room too hot. A small minority rooms do have hot water pipes running through them, however I am pleased to write that we are in the process of reducing the heat in these rooms by covering the pipes to stop any excessive heat.

I thank you for your review as such feedback allows us to constantly review our product and service we offer to our past and future guests.

Once again a huge thank you for your custom and understanding and we look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Two night stay, room was nice with a sea view and nice to have a bath in the room too. Bed was comfy and not too noisy outside at night. Breakfast was enjoyable and cooked to order.

Service was excellent and could not fault my stay in any way. The Italian restaurant is well worth a visit as well. I did not use the hotel bar at all socan't comment on the food in there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbusCompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

I will pass all of your kind comments to all of staff involved.

Once again a huge thank you for your custom and review and we look forward to seeing you when you visit the area again.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed one night at best western staff very friendly, hotel clean and welcoming, will certainly be visiting again, bar and restaurant very good value for money. Lovely location, breakfast was excellent, everything you could possibly want from a full English to continental, thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience and found our hotel to be clean, our staff very friendly, our food to be good value and our breakfast plentiful and good quality.

I will pass your comments to the all staff involved and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Roker Hotel; great views, if you like looking out onto featureless sea. Fantastic staff, dealt very well with an incorrectly made booking & sorted it out well.

Room 30 though was hell, literally. There appear to be heating pipes running around the skirting of the room & even though everything was switched off, the room was boiling. Thre wasn't anything which seemed to be able to be done, so I had to stay the night with the window wide open.

Had I been staying longer I would have had to move.

The adjoining Italian restaurant is brilliant.

Room Tip: Don't have room 30 unless it's been fixed or you like sleeping in a sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to learn that you found the room to be too hot. I have highlighted all of your concerns with the management team to ensure we limit the the temperature where possible.

I will pass your comments to the Italian staff who will be pleased to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience.

Customer feedback is essential and I thank you for taking the time to bring this to my attention so we can ensure the issues are resolved for yourself and future guests.

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

love everything about this hotel and this was our second stay ............... the staff are amazing and went to great lengths to ensure everything was just right for us, starting with Ian on the reception desk who changed our room for us, to the one we had stayed in before, sea view with an amazing bed and bath ( for two ) arranged flowers to be delivered for my Birthday fantastic....The R Bar is great for very good food and drinks all very reasonable, staff are great as was the service, breakfast was a mix of buffet and table service and a wide variety of choice, had a meal in the Italian Restaurant for my Birthday excellent all round service and food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeehns58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable second stay with us.

I will pass your kind comments to all staff involved who ensured you had such an enjoyable visit throughout all aspects of our hotel from reception, rooms, bars and restaurant.

Once again a huge thanks for your review and custom and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel for your third visit.

Kindest regards,

Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
0.6 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
April Guest House
April Guest House
#9 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
4.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
Address: Roker Terrace, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Roker Hotel is situated overlooking the North Sea & Roker Pier. Boasting 43 boutique style bedrooms and 2 function venues for events for up to 350 people, suitable for weddings, corporate dinners, charity events, christenings and much more, we also house three bustling eating and drinking establishments. Open to residents and non-residents alike Let There Be Crumbs tearoom, Poetic License bar and Italian Farmhouse restaurant can all be enjoyed under our one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunderland
Roker Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing