We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“28th reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
1 review
“28th reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

this hotel ranks highly in the "MOTEL" type hotels that i have stayed in over the years.Clean,Friendly,Comfortable,good food,I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the area.Brilliant

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popsinnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you all so very much for your recent feedback, this is greatly appreciated.

It is great to see that you have enjoyed your time with us at Premier Inn, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    87
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
106
83
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

A fine hotel completely spoiled by the room being far too warm. So I tried opening the window but I was next to a main road so was very noisy. End result? I got about 4hrs sleep. Complained in the morning but receptionist just said he'd pass my feedback on. Real shame because everything else was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomad4231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

A premier inn is a premier inn - you always know you will get a clean room and comfy bed!

The service from staff is usually the only variable and this premier inn has fabulous staff. Reception staff were super friendly and helpful and breakfast staff were the same - really friendly and couldn't do enough for you! Best premier inn staff I have ever come across!

Location was very convenient - close to a supermarket and petrol station too!

The location does mean there is some traffic noise but it isn't awful!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We do take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, and the team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times. I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

we had an excellent stay at this premier inn on the 1st of may till the 2nd of may 2014 , nothing was to much bother for the staff ,and they were all very friendly and helpful would recommend this hotel to everyone ,thankyou to all the staff ,and breakfast was excellent too and our evening meal in the brewers fayre next door, where the staff were all very pleasant and went out of their way to make sure our meal was tip top ,thankyou again to all your staff .
from mr and mrs r lockwood from darlington ,county durham

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicelockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Mr and Mrs Lockwood

Thank you also for your comments about the experience in the adjoining pub restaurant and I am delighted that you enjoyed both your evening meal and your breakfast the following morning.

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Comfortable and convenient. Perfect for short stays and if you are moving around the north east area. It is what you expect from a budget hotel but it operates to a consistently high standard. We mostly ate at the adjoining Brewers Fayre. It was what we could afford. Food was what you would expect but the medium rare rump steak was as hard as an old boot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EC_AnMhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you all so very much for your recent feedback, this is greatly appreciated.

I have passed on your feedback to the restaurant about your steak.

We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billericay, uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

A really comfortable stay in a clean and modern establishment. Really friendly and welcoming staff who go out of their way to help you. A very good VFM restaurant/bar adjacent with well equipped childrens indoor play area. Just off the A19 and on the outskirts of Sunderland. Excellent for the Stadium of Light which is a 10-15 minutes drive away. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello Peter,

Thank you also for your comments about the experience in the adjoining pub restaurant and we do take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, and the team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times.


We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very convienent to A17 for shops & Newcastle. Very good staff as always good night sleep as always didn't have time to eat here as we have friends in Newcastle so we ate with them most of the time would stay here again .
Margaret

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello Margaret,

Thank you for your comments. My team and I work hard to exceed our guests expectations. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Address: Wessington Way | Castletown, Sunderland SR5 3HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location within easy reach of the A1(M), A690 and A19. For shops and local amenities Sunderland city centre and The Stadium of Light football ground are only 2 miles away; other local attractions include the National Glass Centre, the Aquatic Centre, Temple Park & Silksworth Ski Slope. Our Sunderland A19/A1231 Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Brewers Fayre restaurant serving great value pub favourites in a family friendly environment. Wi-Fi available for £3 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sunderland a19/a1231 Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing