We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food & service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Empire

Spice Empire
Ranked #44 of 420 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: used to be the old Amalfi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the spice empire quite a few times and always had a nice meal. Tonight has to be the best indian meal I have ever had, every single dish was so tasty! Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SophieSafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    42
    22
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best meal we've had out in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent and very innovative menu, superb food and service. Faultless, no need to say any more. Lots of dishes we'd not heard of before, particularly crab in the starter and tikka chicken teriyaki mmmmmm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBizness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab, efficient and lush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked here because we had time to spare before watching our son perform on Sunderland Empire. On booking my husband explained we had a short time window, this was not a problem. Staff were very efficient and we left exactly 45 minutes after arriving. The food is lush, just the right portion sizes and naan to die for. We would really recommend this restaurant, fab x

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsthefuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Spice Empire an hour ahead of our visit to the Theatre. We had not booked and the restaurant was full. The manager assured us of a table if we waited 10 minutes to be seated. We are so glad we did, the food was excellent with great service and we were in time for the theatre as the manager had promised.
Great start to a great evening with great service and fantastic food.
If you are going to the Sunderland Empire and you are planning a meal first, you won't get any better and it is literally across the road!
Well done to the manager and his staff.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly suprised. Great food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

First visit to this restaurant and will definately be paying another visit. They serve the usual curries etc but I can heartily reccomend the special variations. Had the deshi chicken curry which was probably the best I have had in a long time. I would have no hesitation in reccomending this place to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Empire also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Spice Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing