We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olde Ships Inn - CLOSED

The Olde Ships Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first class food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

as a regular customer of the ships inn, i have to say the food is second to none, wether you are eating vegetarian or not. The food comes to you piping hot and the portions are very good indeed. The chef excellent in every way and a friendly sole. As for the staff they can,t do enough for you and Joy and Ken are a joy (pardon the pun) to know. Very friendly couple who makes everyone welcome. Would not hesitate to reccommend this inn. well worth a visit if your passing.
Beth and gareth Marchant

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gbmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    12
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy,clean with home cooked cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Frequent regularly as a family and as a couple. Warm and welcoming with exceptional staff...food quality top notch and decor and interior exceptionally clean and well maintained. what more could you ask for??

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonndouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have visited this establishment on numerous occasions during my stays in the North East. The food is of an exceptional quality complimented with superb service from Joy and the staff, always striving to ensure customer satisfaction. Post meal a relaxed a friendly atmosphere can be enjoyed in the very comfortable bar area.
I will have no hesitation in returning again the next time I'm in the area or informing my friends in Stoke On Trent who I know visit this area regularly to see their families.

Duncan Walker

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vegi food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Visit this pub often for quiz night on a tuesday and often have a meal. As I am a very fussy vegetarian and am not keen on anything on the menu the chef is always more than happy to make me something of my choice and last week made me some pasta and garlic bread specially which was very tasty! The owners and staff are always more than happy to help and make us feel very comfortable. Everyone who dines here with us enjoys the food and the extra special hosting.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houghton le spring
2 reviews
“Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Myself and my family will definatly be visiting again,The food is of outstanding quality and every effort is made to ensure you are happy throughout your visit,the chef is more than happy to accomidate any special dietary reuirements you may have as does my son,The staff check that everything is to your satisfaction within a reasonable time of your meal being served so that if there is a problem it can be rectified immediately,(not that i had cause to complain),everything is homemade and the proof is in the taste,overall this is a warm,welcoming and clean pub which is well worth a visit on any occasion.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gemma781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Ships Inn also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
East Boldon, Sunderland
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing