We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowbray Guest House
Ranked #3 of 16 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here one night while attending event at Stadium of Light. Located in a lovely part of the town Mowbray Guest House is welcoming, clean and comfortable. The area is quiet and so we had a good nights sleep. The breakfast is excellent and we thought it offered great value for money. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hertswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
41
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

have stayed here and her friend guesthouse the acorn several times now i am a merchant seaman and was made very welcome comfortable and respected the rooms are beautifull the breakfasts are fantastic and i have trouble booking as they are allways both full

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popeyeseaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

stayed for one night, check in wasn't till 2pm i arrived two hours early and was still allowed to check in. Room was bright, clean and spacious. Breakfast was nice and the owners are lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 213shadow213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the Mowbray Guest House for three nights, whilst visiting family. We arrived with a lovely welcome by Alison who is a very warm friendly person. We thoroughly enjoyed a lovely full english breakfast every morning. The room was very clean and comfortable. Don't be afraid to ask for anything as Alison will do her best to accomodate your requests. Would recommend this B&B to anyone

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsasmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
208 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had a lovely comfortable two nights at this guest house.
From the moment we arrived, it was like staying with old friends, we were made welcome, I've just had surgery on my foot and was walking with a stick - I was asked if I needed a ground floor room but I was pleased to be able to decline as our room was on the first floor and accessible.
The bedroom was clean and comfortable and we slept like logs, breakfast was well cooked and delicious and more tea and toast was available on request.
When we asked for a recommendation of somewhere to eat on our first evening, Alison gave us directions to Cafe India which was just round the corner - good food at reasonable prices since it was Thursday night and we had the special menu.
Alison, thank you, we had a great visit and we will be back next time we are in the area. Meanwhile we'll be telling anyone we know who is headed your way, what a fabulous place you have.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were attending a wedding and 'searched' for somewhere near to the Registry Office. Mowbray Guest House was the nearest - five minutes walk away - and whilst we rarely stay in B&B's I decided to take the plunge and book. Again, as with other reviewers, we arrived early but it wasn't a problem for Alison. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast on Sunday morning was very good, I always ask for a poached egg which some people find difficult to do, Alison's was perfect. The stay was extremely good value for money - highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshirePasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Mowbray Guest House for a month while working in Sunderland. It's run by a very friendly family who were really hospitable. The landlady Alison was very helpful and went out of her way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. Also it's very close to the centre, only a 5 minute walk. Couldn't really have asked for for from my stay, and would definitely return again if I need to :)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
359 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Roker Hotel
Best Western Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
817 reviews
1.7 mi away
April Guest House
April Guest House
#9 of 10 in Sunderland
42 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowbray Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray Guest House

Property: Mowbray Guest House
Address: 6 Mowbray Road, Sunderland SR2 8HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mowbray Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Mowbray Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing