We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2007

In my opinion this hotel is a poor example of a 4 Star hotel. The room was clean and the reception staff were helpful but that was about it. The food choice was limited and of poor quality, parking was very difficult due to the number of non-residents using the hotel. Builders were working in the bar. Woken at night by noisy vehicles in the car park. We left two days early and the best part of the stay was seeing the Sunderland Marriott in the rear view mirror.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VFM_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 770 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2007

I stayed for business, and was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The location is excellent - right on the sea front. Parking was easy. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean and well appointed (although it took a while to work out how to switch off the sound of the TV in the bathroom!). I had an enjoyable drink at the bar before dinner in the restaurant - which was truly excellent, worth going to in its own right.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely go there again. The room was a bit cramped and didn't have much of a view, but sea view rooms cost more. As ever, Internet access is over-priced.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Homelovinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Having stayed around Europe, Asia, and North Amerca in mainly 5* "Hotels of the world" as a family we expect quite a lot from a Hotel. In the Marriott the toiletries are not as good, the foyer is not as grand, rooms not as lavish but overall the hotel seems better. We feel more at home because of the welcoming nature of the staff and prefer it to many other much more exclusive and expensive Hotels.

We normally stay in a corner suite which are fantastic in size and decor , the pool / gym area is more than adequate , food is very good, staff are excellent, infact we can not fault it.

If you are looking for a 5* Hotel in Sunderland - stay in a corner suite at the Marriott and you will not be dissapointed - you will aloso save a load of cash.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WEVSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

A super location overlooking the sea, our superior room on the top floor was delightful, clean, plush bathroom, sitting room and a huge comfortable bed.
Eventhough there was a wedding party that night we were not disturbed by noise, breakfast was delicious and for £119 bed and breakfast we were very impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for just one night, and can say that it is proberly the best hotel in the area. It is right next ti bus and metro links and has an italian and at least 2 indian resturants within 100 meters walking distsnce. there is also a pub and large supermarket close by.

Fitness centre is good, although it can get very busy in the pool.
breakfast is a buffett and is very good.

staff very polite and freindly.

to sum up, if you need a hotel in the seaburn / sunderland area look no further!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank parny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

One of the things I love about staying in a hotel by the beach is being able to swing open the windows, smell the sea air and fall asleep to the sound of rolling surf. No such luck here! The windows are all chained up and can only be opened a crack. This may stop the kiddies from hurling themselves onto the tarmac but it would be nice to give the adults the option. So frustrating when you can see the sea just outside your window.

Pity really because the room was great. One of their deluxe rooms with lounge area; it would have been fabulous with a blast of fresh sea air blowing through it. A couple of weird things with the room though; mini bar was unstocked with a note instructing us to call room service if we wanted it filled. So instead we took advantage of the supermarket a block away and filled it ourselves. Silly buggers missed a trick there as we normally demolish the contents of a minibar several times over. Their loss!

The other minus about the room was one of my pet hates, a very low pressure shower. I mentioned it to reception and they blamed frozen pipes. I reminded them that you need freezing temperatures for this but I just got a limp smile.

Service was OK, friendly but impersonal. I agree with a previous reviewer about the layout. If you have mobility problems, don't even bother. A rabbit warren that really needs to be bulldozed and rebuilt with big balconies and sliding doors on the sea-facing rooms.

Just remembered another bizarre thing. The breakfast buffet is served in the crappy looking pots and pans it's cooked in! Now that might work if they used something suitably rustic like Le Creuset but this lot looked like it was rescued from Pompei. Not a good look.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2006

For a business traveller this hotel doesn't have much to offer. When I asked if there was an internet connection available I was met with blank stares. I subsequently discovered there was a wireless connection available at a sofa in the lounge at a huge cost. The room was OK, the breakfast was a standard fry-up that had been left out for longer than it should. The staff were all local and very pleasant though I didn't actually understand the conversation. My real criticism would be that it would have been cheaper to have stayed at the Malmasion in Newcastle where all the standard business facilities are free.

Stayed: February 2005
7  Thank Boss_Hogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roker Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
6 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Address: Seaburn Queens Parade, Sunderland SR6 8DB, England (Formerly Marriott Sunderland)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#4 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range: $78 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunderland Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a blend of modern luxury and convenience at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel. Located on the seafront, our hotel is two miles north of the city centre and overlooks Seaburn's sandy beaches. A full-service hotel, we offer high quality accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities - many enjoying sea views. The hotel also boasts three luxurious suite style rooms complete with a glazed rotunda overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunderland Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Sunderland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing