We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right on the seafront.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great hotel right on the seafront.”
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Perfect hotel for a stroll along the seafront. We did not have time to use the swimming pool but it looked very inviting. Our room was very comfortable with a sea view and a bathroom that looked like it had never been used. Great location to visit the local area, i.e. the metro centre - 20 mins by car, or further afield to Holy Island.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sh0rtbreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    267
    123
    31
    12
See reviews for
161
265
22
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott Sunderland for one night and were dissapointed.
Our room had an empty minibar with a sign saying please ask at reception if you would like your minibar stocked, which we did, but they said that as they had had problems with the minibars not being paid for they couldnt do that we would have to order drinks and they could bring them up. In a superior room we would expect to at least have some water in the minibar!
The hotel was very hot, especially on our floor (3rd) and the rooms have no air con. The windows do open slightly but this in not possible due to the noise from the road outside. 3 out of the 6 lights in our bedroom did not work and neither did our shower, the water trickled out in spurts making it impossible to rinse your hair. I had to go down to our friends room and use their shower. When I told the receptionist this upon checkout she did not even apologise to us, just said that she would get maintenance to look at it.
We attended a party in Sunderland and returned to our room late that night to find that the 24hr room service menu was not available, just sandwiches.
Breakfast was the worst I have had for a long time, it was on until 10.30pm and we arrived at 10am and there was nothing left, no pastries, buns, 2 slices of bread, little fruit juice. The hot food had obviously been standing all morning and was hard and overcooked.
On the positive side the beds are lovely and comfortable and the rooms large.
The views of the sea are lovely as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I have stayed twice at this hotel and would deffinetly stay again, used the Marriott Gosforth Park also when we have been in the North East but the rooms and service are better here.
Rooms very spacious both times we have stayed. If you make special requests by emailing the hotel they are very accomodating. Reception staff very friendly.
Used restaurant for breakfast which is nice very leisurly usual Marriott choices of hot and cold buffet and have used bar snacks which arent cheap but good quality.
Used the pool not huge but nice for a swim.
The hotel does not look much from the outside and looks more like a seaside hotel than a Marriott but its much better inside. Not much in the immediate vicinity but nice for a stroll along the seafront to blow away the cobwebs.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2holidayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed there for 2 nights 2-3rd October 2009

Very good location for visiting the area.

We managed to get a sea view room with 2 double beds and the room was lareg enough for the family of 4. Two under 7 and my wife and I.

The breakfasts were very good and a great choice to choose from

We travelled into Sunderland one evening to eat at Franki & Bennies about 10 minutes by car in to the city centre.

The staff were very pleasant from check in - leisure facilities - restaraunt.

This hotel is much better equipped than any in the area and the prices are very competetive. We paid £72 for the room including breakfast for the 4 of us so even a cheap travelodge couldnt compare.

The swimming pool is small but perfect for the children to swim around in. Likewise the gym is a decent size for the amount of people who use it.

I would certainly reccomend this place for people staying within around 20 miles of the area if not more.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirksdonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed at the Marriott for a couple of nights for a wedding party and must say it was well worth the money we spent, which was only a little more than a Premier or Travelodge night. The Hotel is right on the sea front next to a good fish and chip shop and only 10 Minutes from the town centre.

The rooms are light and airy and the beds as always are well comfortable.

Try and haggle for a good room rste and get breakfat included because thst is massive and well filling in the morning.

Oveall a great stay and relaxing weekend.
Steve

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveCLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Don't be put off, this hotel is not in central Sunderland, but on the seafront at Seaburn, a long stretch of beautifully sandy beach in Northern England, a haven for joggers and walkers and far less commercialised than most (though it does have a Morrisons!)

The hotel itself is typically Marriott, fabulous comfortable rooms with every amenity (I would recommend an upgrade to a seaview room if you can, well worth it), gorgeous pool (Roman design and warm), Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, and medium-sized gym, quality food and friendly, efficient staff. It also benefits from free on-site parking.

Great base due to excellent road, rail (metro) and bus links to Newcastle and other towns on the fantastic coastline including South Shields (great parks, free gigs in Summer, cheap and cheerful pleasure beach, and excellent curries), Tynemouth (Castle, views etc) and Whitley Bay (shops/pubs).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toncasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We booked a superior room, and it was large and very comfortable. Marriott pride themselves on their feather bedding which is supposed to be hypoallergenic but we got the sniffles, asked for foam bedding and it was changed in 30mins which we consider excellent. One of us has an unusual food allergy, the kitchen coped for dinner, but we were most impressed by a breakfast waitress who we had never seen before who knew about it and suggested solutions which the chef quickly prepared. Probably a note on a computerised database but it put us in a very good mood since allergies often have to be explained at every meal to ever changing staff. Sunderland sea-front is a surprisingly attractive place for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Loiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
399 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
April Guest House
April Guest House
#9 of 10 in Sunderland
44 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
6.0 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Property: Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Address: Queens Parade, Sunderland SR6 8DB, England (Formerly Marriott Sunderland)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#4 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunderland Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a blend of modern luxury and convenience at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel. Located on the seafront, our hotel is two miles north of the city centre and overlooks Seaburn's sandy beaches. A full-service hotel, we offer high quality accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities - many enjoying sea views. The hotel also boasts three luxurious suite style rooms complete with a glazed rotunda overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunderland Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Sunderland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing