We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Originally booked here online and when phoning to check one or two things the hotel staff were great. Very helpful and accommodating.

On arrival the desk staff were very helpful and went out of their way to check us in as quickly as possible, even when the hotel was very busy.

Used the pool, which was small but nice. Again, poolside staff were friendly. The changing rooms need some work, particularly the showers and there was an unpleasant "drainy" smell at one end of the pool.

The room was nice. An unusually large bathroom too! Despite being on 1st floor we did not hear the function underneath us in the restaurant, or the disco at the wedding - we also has function rooms on the same floor which didn't cause us any difficulty.

Overall, staff were great and hotel in an ideal location. However, some updating required to justify the price and don't be put off by the external view if the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diromu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    267
    123
    31
    12
See reviews for
161
265
22
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for my husband's birthday at the beginning of July, using our Tesco vouchers. Asked for a sea-view room, but as they were £20 extra per night decided to see what we were allocated. We were very lucky and got a room which overlooked the football pitch and also had views of the sea and lighthouse - it was not a superior, but was fairly large and very light and we'd certainly choose it again. King-size bed was of usual Marriott standard and the room was very comfortable. Only slight complaint was the lack of sufficient double-glazing as you can hear the traffic and the odd seagull at dawn - easily rectified with ear-plugs.

Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice and eggs cooked to order. Staff very friendly and when I enquired if there was any kiwi-fruit the chef apologised, but brought me a bowl of fresh strawberries instead. A word of warning during the recent spell of good weather - don't sit in the conservatory area - it gets uncomfortably hot. As the evening meal was included we dined in the restaurant both evenings and were not disappointed. All dishes were cooked to perfection and they were more than happy to fulfill requests for different sauces etc. The chocolate mousse was "to die for" and I ordered it both nights. Once again, the staff were very friendly and eager to please and even presented my husband with a cake and sang Happy Birthday to him!

We loved the location and the fact that you could walk straight out on to the sea-front. We were surprised by the lovely long stretch of sand and that the whole coastal area had such rugged beauty - check out the next village (a short walk away) of Whitburn and call in at Tutti-Fruities ice-cream parlour (the rum & raisin was delicious). Also, just a little further up the coast before you get to South Shields, is Marsden Rock - a lovely picturesque cove and bird sanctuary, with a pub down on the beach, built into the caves. There is a charge to park, but you can get it refunded if you buy a couple of drinks.

We wish we could have stayed longer and I am sure we will return at the next opportunity.

Room Tip: Might be worth paying for a sea-view, but we were lucky enough to get one on the end rooms, which ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscart35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We just spent 1 night in The Sunderland Marriott. My biggest concern was no aircon so I booked a sea view room for the breeze. The room was very comfortable temperature wise. The staff were very friendly and helpful in the bar a d at check in. My only issues with the hotel is that it really needs updating. The room was large but the furniture and the carpet are dated. The wall paper is peeling off the walls and there is a lot of mold in the grout in the shower. Having to leave the windows open to get cool air makes it very noisy. Loud people late at night, cars, fog horns going of most of the night every couple of minutes, and you can hear the doors up and down the hall slamming. The walls were also thin as we could hear the person coughing and snoring in the room behind our bed. It's not a bad hotel and if you are a heavy sleeper, you may enjoy your night, where we did not.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_vacation_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandMarriott, General Manager at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and I apologise your stay did not meet your expectations. On a positive note, I am delighted that you found the staff were very friendly and helpful in the bar and at check in. The heatwave we are currently experiencing in the UK is unusually hot for us and not all our bedrooms have air conditioning.
We will address the maintenance issues you have highlighted and thank you for bringing these to my attention
I do apologise you did not get a good night's sleep and were disturbed by other guests. Please contact me directly at the hotel.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel serves a purpose - The rooms are comfortable, clean and of good size. Just a few small niggles that has bought my rating down to 4. The iron in my room and colleagues of mine was not good enough. The breakfast was poor in my opinion. Some things just feel like they need a bit of a refresh although this isnt a major factor.

The main issue is with wi-fi - to get wi-fi in the room it's extremely pricey. It is a pure money making scheme for the hotel and is ridiculously priced.

Good location for Sunderland and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandMarriott, General Manager at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
It is great to read your feedback regarding the rooms but I am sorry you experienced some issues during your stay. I can assure you these issues have been addressed with my team. In all UK Marriott hotels, WiFi is free in public areas, indeed there is a charge for WiFi in bedrooms which allows you to connect up to five devices. We have recently invested in an upgrade to our system to ensure security, quality and speed .
Many thanks for your valuable feedback.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stay here regularly. Large rooms and bathrooms and many with a lovely sea view and separate seating area. Hotel is a bit tatty and in need of some repair but the friendly staff make up for that. A wide choice of hot and cold breakfast options but only of a standard quality. You can order freshly made items from the separate menu. Small gym and a small swimming pool. A good choice of restaurants are just a 5 minute walk from the hotel - they don't look very special but are very good. Own car park.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is great - we booked a superior room and the room we were allocated was fantastic and about three times the size of a normal double room ! The sea views are lovely and the bathroom was huge. Well worth paying an extra 20 pounds compared to the normal double room rate. The room was spotlessly clean. When we arrived the reception staff were chatty, very professional and friendly. We went to the bar for a drink and it was a really nice atmosphere and again all the staff were really friendly and the service was very efficient. We only stayed for one night but we are already planning a return visit as the location is superb as we could walk over the road and straight onto the beach.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a very enjoyable weekend at the Marriott in Sunderland. We tend to use this hotel when we stay in the North East as it is perfectly positioned for visiting friends in Sunderland and my home town of South Shields. It never disappoints with great rooms and an excellent breakfast. The atmosphere is always good and being able to walk out of the front door onto the seafront is a big bonus, especially with the recent brilliant weather. We enjoyed pleasant walks along the seafront and found the whole weekend extremely relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
401 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,394 reviews
13.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
6.6 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Property: Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Address: Queens Parade, Sunderland SR6 8DB, England (Formerly Marriott Sunderland)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#4 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunderland Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a blend of modern luxury and convenience at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel. Located on the seafront, our hotel is two miles north of the city centre and overlooks Seaburn's sandy beaches. A full-service hotel, we offer high quality accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities - many enjoying sea views. The hotel also boasts three luxurious suite style rooms complete with a glazed rotunda overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunderland Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Sunderland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing