We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel - ask for room 150!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Notts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab hotel - ask for room 150!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed while visiting family in the area and were not disapointed. We had a cornersuite - room 150 - for myself, my husband and two young children. The room was lovely with awesome views of the beach. Nice big bathroom too with jacuzzi bath. The kids slept on a comfy bed settee and we had a huge bed which was, for a hotel, really comfortable. Breakfast was lovely - everything you could want and the staff were very attentive and genuinely lovely. We will be staying again.

Room Tip: Room 150 - corner suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lampooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    258
    114
    31
    12
See reviews for
158
255
22
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed one night - room only. It was a superior room with sea view and was very, very nice with a lounge area with table, chairs and second Flat Screen TV. The bathroom was nice with separate bath and shower cubicle. The dining room was virtually deserted at 9.00pm on Saturday. The menu was totally uninspiring and with only 3 people in eating we didn't bother. There's a decent selection of eating places to suit all tastes within walking distance. We tried the Indian Restaurant Shagorika. The Italian Restaurant in the Tavistock Roker is only half a mile away and well worth a visit. The reception staff were very friendly and made us feel genuinely welcome. We were very happy there on the room only basis.

Room Tip: Superior with Sea View was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Well renovated bulding with very nice public areas and extremely attentive staff. Cooked breakfast was poor with sausages only browned on one side. Really overpriced but nevertheless very comfortable well finished rooms

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billericay, uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went back to the Marriott Hotel once again and we were so pleased that we did so. The personal touches and the friendliness of the staff could not possibly be matched by another Brand Hotel. I am not sure whether it is the training or just the natural friendliness of the local people in the North East but we were made to feel like individuals and yes, somewhat special. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable even if Sunderland Football Club let us down again! For the record the rooms overlooking the sea are worth the extra money, spacious and well equipped. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful and next time we will take the opportunity to dine in the hotel. The location is first class and the hotel remains full of character. Thanks to Housekeeping for finding the items we had forgotten and left in our room and our compliments to the Manager and Reception staff for being so helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I recently stayed in the hotel for just the one night I’m sad to say and on a room only basis. But what a room! It was huge!!! I had a large bed with a sofa and two arm chairs and a desk area. It was also one of a very few hotels that I have been to which had a separate bath and shower and with good large towels also.
We had dinner at the bar in the restaurant which was very nice also a good selection of food and a good quality also. My only small issue is there was no tea/coffee making options in the room but it’s only due to my love of a morning coffee. But over all very impressed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandMarriott, General Manager at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your review and it is a pleasure to read your feedback. Your comments have been passed on to the team. I am sorry that you were unable to locate the coffee/tea making facilities in the bedroom but I can assure you that this service is available in all of our bedrooms.
Once again, very many thanks for your kind words.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Visited a wedding here in summer . Venue was clean and classy, staff were friendly and food was delicious. Room was large and clean with a beautiful sea view. Drinks were quite pricy which was only downfall for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have visited Sunderland Marriott many times. Our large room had a fab sea view, was spotlessly clean, warm, and with the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in. The food was excellent - on the last 2 visits, we felt that the restaurant was letting the hotel down, but not so this time, it was superb. The staff are always great here, friendly and efficient. Fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lay_dee_jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
0.6 mi away
Best Western Roker Hotel
Best Western Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
817 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
359 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,340 reviews
12.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
959 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Property: Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Address: Queens Parade, Sunderland SR6 8DB, England (Formerly Marriott Sunderland)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sunderland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunderland Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a blend of modern luxury and convenience at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel. Located on the seafront, our hotel is two miles north of the city centre and overlooks Seaburn's sandy beaches. A full-service hotel, we offer high quality accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities - many enjoying sea views. The hotel also boasts three luxurious suite style rooms complete with a glazed rotunda overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunderland Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Sunderland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing