We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Happy Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Happy Anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night to celebrate our anniversary. This hotel's external facade is nothing out of the ordinary. Inside, however, we found the decor dated but classy. The room was exceptional. Great sea view, clean and a superbly comfortable king size bed. We found all the staff cheery, friendly and helpful. I made use of the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. I was impressed that all the leisure facilities were open from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. Breakfast, whilst expensive has everything you could possibly desire......EXCEPT BLACK PUDDING!! Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    248
    109
    31
    12
See reviews for
152
247
22
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here for one night. The hotel was spotless and, the rooms were really nice. we arrived late and our rooms were well prepared by the house keeping staff. They even remembered to have the interconnecting doors open for us. The only thing which does let the hotel down was that someone forgot to te the staff at breakfast how far a smile and some courtesy can make a difference. Some of the staff, particularly the non Brittish staff appeared to think that everything was a chore. Not really good for repeat custom. Perhaps this could be addressed though and would happily come back here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martmcgrgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

when one thinks of a marriott hotel, one immediately has a certain level of expectation. This hotel failed to meet me expectations. I chose the marriott because i wanted Marriott standards and was disappointed by what i found. The light in the bathroom was broken, the bed was small, it moved around a bit too easily. The minibar had a note on it saying it was faulty and going to be replaced, the truth actually was that the hotel was removing all minibars from all rooms, so not having that facility was annoying, there was no wireless internet in the rooms and it cost £15 per day to sign up to - not acceptable given the price of the rooms. In short, its not a 4 star hotel, not even close.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Odd entrance which felt like a back door in the car park. Efficient reception, except she didn't mention the code needed to get out of the car park.
The room was spacious and clean, tho bathroom a bit small. Internet access £15 a day, so we didn't bother. Breakfast £15, or 18 delivered to your room, so didn't try it. A pint and a bottle of Newcastle Brown was £8, and she didn't even pour out the Newcastle Brown. Bar was empty, not surprisingly. But there is a pub next door. Sand spilt on stairs and corridor carpet still there after 24 hours.
So, a pleasant enough stay, comfy room and bed, but a few flaws.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueandallan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

just arrived home from a sleepless 2 nights at the sunderland marriott!!! on arrival to room 325 the room was very spacious and bright.during the night the noise from the water pump was awful every time water was run there was a terrible banging noise when told reception they said they had never had a complaint before!!! what a fib looking at earleir trip advisor reports sadly a couple in room 324 had the same complaint. not a cheap weekend away so i am sure you could get better value for money elsewhere and also a good nights sleep! off to bed!

Room Tip: opposite end of hotel from 325
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Myself & many family members stayed 2 nights for a family event. It's OK but nothing special. Got well pissed off when I found a letter on my bed saying that I had been smoking in my room which I hadn't, and would be charged £150 for deodourising. Took 24 hours to sort. Staff were friendly.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DCO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed here with my other half and 18 month old son for 'The Great North Run' weekend so the Saturday night we were charged the event rate of £179. The first room we were given had an extractor fan outside of the window that they had positioned my sons cot at the side of.....! Not only would there have been constant humming all day and night, but we could not open the window either to let any fresh air in as it was far too loud and my son would have not got any sleep at all.. We rang down to reception and the staff were great and sorted out a room move straight away. The second room was much better with a window that we could open.
The following morning we went down for breakfast and the staff did not seem the usual Marriott standard.. They were friendly but not very helpful. All the bananas had gone, more than likely from other runners, but staff just said there was no more.... The food was less than average, in particular the porridge was cold and the buffet was almost all gone and only just warm. It took them a while to replenish the food by which time we needed to leave to get to the start.
After a long day at the run and running 13.1 miles we returned to the hotel just before 4pm to find that we were locked out of our room and the room had not been serviced and towels had not been changed. The enter cards must have been cancelled for some unknown reason. The cleaning staff were fantastic and sorted us getting into the room so that we didn't have to mess about going back downstairs with aching muscles. Once in the room we then had to again chase staff around to get clean towels so that I could have the long awaited soak in a hot bath. They offered to clean the room whilst we were in it but it was inappropriate really as how can someone clean whilst the bathroom is occupied and we just wanted our privacy. When we informed reception of our scenario later they did not really seem that interested as long as we had received clean towels. We had to ask them to hoover the room and empty the bins whilst we were out.
The following morning we went down for breakfast to be told rather loudly in front of the other guests that we would have to pay for breakfast... When informed that I had booked for B&B she said that I had already checked out so there was a charge, even though this was not the case... She than made us stand there rather than seating us at a table whislt she sorted it out with reception... and what a surprise we had booked B&B!!!!!... The food again was average and the buffet once again kept running out of items so there was never all items on offer at once... And who offers only one kind of egg...?
I was disappointed with the overall stay as mentioned earlier it was not up to the usual Marriott standard especially when they charge such a high price for the Run... When I stayed in the Marriott in London for the Marathon the staff were falling over us to give us everything we needed to help with the run inparticular the breakfasts and there was even fruit and water on offer at reception when we were leaving the hotel......
One good thing about the Sunderland Marriott is that it is ideally located for the Great North run start and finish with a Metro station just up the road and only 5 miles down the coast from the finish....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOANNE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
12.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
12.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Property: Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Address: Queens Parade, Sunderland SR6 8DB, England (Formerly Marriott Sunderland)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#4 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunderland Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a blend of modern luxury and convenience at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel. Located on the seafront, our hotel is two miles north of the city centre and overlooks Seaburn's sandy beaches. A full-service hotel, we offer high quality accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities - many enjoying sea views. The hotel also boasts three luxurious suite style rooms complete with a glazed rotunda overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunderland Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Sunderland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing