We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best in the Area”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

If you want a relaxing stay with great facilities, good food, and friendly staff this si the hotel for you. It is a home from home for the weekday traveller.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    258
    114
    31
    12
See reviews for
158
255
22
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I stayed in January with a large group and got a very good party booking rate. On arrival, the initial route to the bedroom was torturous and a little confusing due to the additional building structure to the side of the building. Although it involved the use of two lifts, it has to be said that there was a helpful member of staff who showed the lift full of people to all of our rooms. The quality and decor of the room was what was expected at this grading and although there was no time to use many of the extras, the TV was of a good standard and the tea making facilities although minimal at times were welcome. There was a noise from a generator outside from the back of the car park that my roommate did not like. I am not a good sleeper in strange environments but I had no problem with this as the bed was really comfortable... praise indeed. The bathroom with the easy to use shower and separate bath was spacious and well maintained. Breakfast was very good on both mornings although it seemed different on the second morning. The set dinner menu thrown in with the price was of such a good standard that the only thing I can think that could be improved upon was an extra portion of butter for the soup. The waiters went out of their way to be more than helpful to bring more than what was necessary. On that point and a few others, it has to be said that this was a good test for the hotel staff dealing with a full hotel in January and I felt that they went far above the call of duty and coped admirably with the situation. In addition I used the swimming pool, amazing hot tub and steam room...Recommended.
Judging by the room information pack and the local sights that I was familiar with, I suspect that most people staying here will make use of their cars to visit the area. In the free time that we had, four of us left the car had a walk along the seafront and the north pier of the River Wear, no doubt an activity done by tourists here in days gone by.
Ultimate relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_on_tour1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Don't get me wrong this is a good solid hotel and is a tad above the run of the mill hotels that my booking system put me in. More room in the room, better linens, bigger tv - I could go on. However all is not perfect. The walk to my room was convoluted and the lift doesn't go to the third floor. The breakfast is good but little things like bread that is too big for the toaster, butter on the table but the jam is in bowls with the bread - see it and you'll know what I mean.
But the one thing that spoiled it for me was the little flashing light right over my bed. Apparently this is the fire/smoke detector that flashes to let you know it's working - it is working and was at 3 am, 4 am, 5 am. I gave up after that. You can get an eye mask at reception but I only found out when checking out. Free wifi would have helped - internet charges are ridiculous.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalamaki-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Had a really good weekend at the Marriott in Sunderland just before christmas, nothing to much trouble for the staff, even though lots of snow on the gound

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the hotel and I am always pleasantly surprised, always forgetting how nice the hotel is!

The staff are excellent and more than happy to do anything you require, breakfast is cooked extremely well and with a fantastic view of the sea!

Highly recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Sunderland especially as there is plenty of parking aswell as local restaurants and the lovely view

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannytaylor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Standard Marriott fayre - sauna and steam room hotter than normal and better.Staff are really nice,friendly and locally knowlegeable.Hotel on seafront a couple of miles from town.Was also really quiet,food ok.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutch197036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

My wide & I have now stayed here about six times - we absolutely love Seaburn - it is a hidden gem, and we always receive a friendly welcome from all staff. We have always had one of the suites with a circular bay overlooking the seafront and the position of the hotel is first class. The walking along the cliffs from Souter lighthouse to Marsden Grotto and beyond is stunning & very easy going, and we recommend the hotel and especially the venue to anyone !
A short drive north to Tynemouth is also a must. Never tire of the place. The people are lovely

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygoluckyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
0.6 mi away
Best Western Roker Hotel
Best Western Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
817 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
359 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,340 reviews
12.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
959 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Property: Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Address: Queens Parade, Sunderland SR6 8DB, England (Formerly Marriott Sunderland)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#4 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunderland Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a blend of modern luxury and convenience at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel. Located on the seafront, our hotel is two miles north of the city centre and overlooks Seaburn's sandy beaches. A full-service hotel, we offer high quality accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities - many enjoying sea views. The hotel also boasts three luxurious suite style rooms complete with a glazed rotunda overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunderland Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Sunderland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing