We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Eighteen

Cafe Eighteen
Ranked #56 of 420 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Trendy little cafe serving delicious homemade food and great drinks at amazing value.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

my daughter and I enjoyed lunch here yesterday.I had the £5 deal which included a jacket potato with a choice of fillings...my choice was beans and cheese and this was served with a small, fresh side salad and included a tea or coffee. My daughter enjoyed her falafel salad and a coffee.
Very good value for money, food presented nicely and very nice friendly staff. I'll visit again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 12BevD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    35
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Been here 4 times in one month, love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I went here for lunch for the first time at the end of October and me and my husband loved it. I've been here three more times with different work colleagues in the past month and they all love it too. Collectively we have had burgers, wraps, chillie, pulled pork, soups, olives, teas coffees and cakes all of which were very well presented and extremely tasty. At a reasonable price too! I would highly recommend this little cafe for lunch for whoever hasn't tried it yet :) x

Helpful?
Thank kazaraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I have been to The Olive 4 times (I am actually here right now having a pulled pork roll *yumm*) and we have never been dissapointed. Food is always delicious and the cakes are great too. Sunderland doesn't have many choices and I am so happy we found this great place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gizel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“BROCOLI AND STILTON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

just left the Olive coffee shop as I have ventured over to Sunderland to do some shopping must
say the brocili and stilton soup was fantastic , my partner who is hard to please had Feta, olive, oregano & tomato in Olive Panini!
it was fantastic we now are regulars there now as my friend David has his bus pass so we look forward to
manager I think her name now is michelle I have been calling her blanch for weeks sorry got your name wrong cant wait to come back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great little cafe in Sunderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Unfortunately Sunderland isn't known for it's abundance of cafe's and coffee shops. This cafe is tucked away on Olive Street with a bright orange facade so you can't miss it. The menu provies a great choice ranging from breakfast (served until 3), panini's, sandwiches, burgers and more. There's also a couple of specials boards on the wall. The usual coffee's and cold drinks are served and a fridge showing a delicious selection of cakes is very tempting. The prices are also very reasonable. For round £5 you can get a great panini with delicious homemade chips, salad and coleslaw, and the coffee's are a good price too. The decor is really nice and there's a great atmosphere. Give Starbucks a miss and visit here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChocolateboxUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle T, Owner at Cafe Eighteen, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I would just like to thank you all for your reviews, it's very rewarding getting positive feedback from our customers and drives us all on to deliver even better food & service.
We would just like to say that we changing our name to Café 18 (we are 18 Olive St), but are staying under the same ownership (we took over in May 2013), 95% of the menu will stay the same, But as I inherited this fab menu from the previous owners then, I feel it is now time to have our own identity and branding. So we are adding a few new dishes that we have found have gone really well whilst on our specials board, however, if there is something on the old menu that you used to love, please ask, as I'm sure we can still cook it for you! Oh and it won't be bright orange, but a kind of Mediterranean red, hopefully!
Thank you all once again, and we look forward to seeing you all again soon, Michelle and her fabulous team, Louise, Joanne & Kevin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Eighteen also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cafe Eighteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing