We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum”

Sunderland Museum & Winter Gardens
Ranked #6 of 47 things to do in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sunderland Museum & Winter Gardens is a great place for the whole family to spend a day, giving you lots to see and do. Situated in the heart of the city, the museum has four floors of exciting galleries and exhibitions waiting to be discovered. Learn the story of the city and its people and of fascinating worlds beyond. A programme of special exhibitions features both our own amazing collections as well as some of the nation's treasures, brought here through out links with national museums. Regular events and activities for all ages, mean that there are so many reasons to come back, again and again. Admission to the museum is free. Charges may apply to some exhibitions. Opening Times: Monday to Saturday 10am - 4pm and 12 - 4pm Sundays
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
N Yorks
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A very interesting museum with something for all age groups. Loved the winter gardens with its opportunity to see the plants from a balcony above.
Would have liked a bit more time there, but it was closing time before we completed our visit. Will go back another time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    166
    59
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Free Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

A great place to learn about some of Sunderland's history and to catch excellent temporary exhibitions. We saw the Grayson Perry tapestries.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IanMec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Informative and Relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I recently was tempted into the Museum to view the Grayson Perry Tapestries. I had not realised that there were so many other rooms upstairs in the museum and my short stay lasted for 3 hours.
I ended this peaceful afternoon off by visiting the cafe. As it was a sunny afternoon I had a pot of tea and sat for a while reading then decided the ice creams looked delicious and an extremely reasonable price. All in all a good unplanned trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianeNDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

spent a couple of hours hear looking at the exhibits and Art. the winter gardens are stunning a very relaxing place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plenty to do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our grandchildren like nothing better than a trip here. Plenty to see and do even if it's not raining.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunderland Museum & Winter Gardens also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sunderland Museum & Winter Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing