We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fan-tas-tic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of D'Acqua Restaurant

D'Acqua Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 420 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: Italian, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Offering French, Italian cuisine in the former water company buildingSourcing local produce and serving quality food and serviceOpen for lunches & evenings
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fan-tas-tic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Absolutely fabulous. Came for light meal before theatre so had early bird special. Great value for money and food was lush. Fish sizzler outstanding and plenty of vegie options for partner. All staff helpful and friendly. Nice atmosphere. Will def cone again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babykin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmy_dacqua85, Owner at D'Acqua Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Bea-uti-ful review thanks very much, appreciate your taking the time to wright such a lovely review after you visit.

We hope to see you again in the near future and thanks once again

Regards, Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    144
    42
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Always fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Every time we've been the food is always top quality, staff always friendly. We love it and will be back soon. John & June.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyboy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmy_dacqua85, Owner at D'Acqua Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi thanks for a nice review, its nice to know you always enjoy it here and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Best wishes, Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

First time I'd dined here on my birthday and all I can say is WOW!!
Although knowing the staff here we were still welcomed like everyone else, in a happy professional manor. Best part of the welcome was that the drinks and food orders are taken while still seated in the bar area, which meant there wasn't as long to wait at your table for food like many other restaurants.
Food was top quality, eating from the A la carte menu it was definitely great value for money, chicken liver pâté was the best I've tasted in a long time! Raspberry sorbet as a refresher between course, before tucking into Chicken Diana for main. Every part of the main was to die for, not to mention the 'proper' chips (hand cut) cooked to perfection. Finally the sharing plate for dessert, would recommend this for more than 2 people or not to have a starter as there is a lot to try and fit in.
Also a mention to the chefs coming to sing Happy Birthday to me, may not of been the best of singing, but they definitely shine through on their day job and it give us (and other tables) a laugh.
Thanks for a great birthday experience D'Acqua, can't wait to return to try the early bird menu!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YakkaHakka14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmy_dacqua85, Owner at D'Acqua Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for a lovely review it was nice that you choose D'acqua to celebrate your birthday and we must apologize for our terrible singing!

We hope to see you dining with us again in the near future and thanks once again

Regards, jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rating says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Business Lunch for 2 today. Excellent menu, lovely staff, music low so we could talk, nothing a problem. Couldn't fault it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stratoandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmy_dacqua85, Owner at D'Acqua Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for you nice review, its nice to hear you found us great for your business lunch. Please do visit us again soon, regarding music it is a laid back feel but if any customers ever wanted we can reduce/increase volumes in all of the different areas at d'acqua. Also we have a private room that seats 2-6 comfortably but for private meeting maybe of some interest to yourself in the future or other business people reading these reviews

Kind regards. JImmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Another Great Sunday Lunch At D'acqua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had Sunday lunch at D'acqua again yesterday and left feeling impressed again. This time I took my boyfriend who had never been and he was very impressed too, really enjoyed it. We got there around 12ish and it started to get busier very quick. Again the staff were very nice and professional, and the service is good. I said in my other review of D'acqua that the decor is very good and it still is... it's like being in a very upmarket restaurant (which it is of course!), only without the upmarket prices. It's still one of the best value and quality Sunday dinners I've ever had. Loved it. Oh and I used the loo this time and even those are very nice too hehe :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmy_dacqua85, Owner at D'Acqua Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi thanks for you lovely review after your Sunday visit, its great to know you enjoyed the whole experience, as you mentioned it does look up market but we do not come with the pretentious side of things, we try to offer the best quality we can and in a relaxed atmosphere as you and many of our diners notice so thanks very much

Best wishes, Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Acqua Restaurant also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to D'Acqua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing