We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was fine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Manor - CLOSED

Thai Manor
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It was fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Early evening meal before the theatre one night.
Bright and clean inside, lovely spicy crackers on the table which were re-filled after we ate them all.
Menu is all pretty standard Thai fare, nothing particularly outstanding, prices slightly on the higher side of being reasonable so early evening and we were £30 plus for just a main with rice and a drink (for two).
But good service and certainly a perfectly acceptable place to go in Sunniside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    35
    14
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
137 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Thai Manor Foyle Street Sunderland. Bought a Groupon for 4 for £24. Wow the food was fab. We had 2 courses each and only to pay extra for our drinks. Service was good, decor nice and modern, very clean, definitely return. Place was very busy at 6.30 onwards, which is always a goos sign.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsDigibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

A Thai novice who cannot each spicy food with a groupon voucher. Had a fabulous meal satay chicken to start pad thai for mains suggested by my son. It was delicious!! Husband who loves Thai food had a red curry? He said it was good. Using the voucher made me try something different and a new restaurant. I will now try more Thai food and will return to Thai Manor. Staff very good very busy good night. Thank you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martsmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a lovely meal with my daughters,we all chose from the happy hour menu and shared. The food was lovely and £9.95 pp for 3 courses good value. The staff were very friendly and efficient.The restaurant very nice with plenty of parking after 6. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Visited on Saturday night, using a Groupon voucher I'd purchased for £12 providing 2 starters up to £4.95 each and 2 mains up to £8.50 each. The restaurant was clean, bright and atmospheric, the staff lovely and attentive and we were shown to our table within minutes of arriving. Menus provided and drinks order taken immediately, lovely bowl of prawn crackers on the table which were devoured very quickly. I ordered the Satay Gai (chicken satay on skewers with peanut sauce) and hubby the Pau Pia Pet (duck spring rolls with Thai BBQ sauce), the presentation and taste of both was superb, table cleared quickly but not whisked away as you were finishing, so very timely. I ordered the Gang Kiow Wahnt (Thai Green Chicken Curry) with basmati rice and hubby the Pad Low Pang (stir fry with duck), not a long wait for mains to arrive and when they did, the meals were beautifully presented, a little disappointed with bowl of rice (used to having it presented in mound/heart/various shapes when in Thailand). That didn't detract just thought it would have added a little more authenticity. Stir fry was divine and the curry was nice but please note it is really hot, to be a honest too spicy for me which detracted from the taste and quality and my rating. When ordering, recommend you ask about this before committing, on a scale of 1-10, I would rate the spiciness as an 8.5. All in all, a good experience in a previously un-visited restaurant and would recommend. If in any doubt, watch out for a Groupon deal to help convince you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Manor also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
East Boldon, Sunderland
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing