We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Romano

Bistro Romano
Ranked #12 of 420 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have eaten at this restaurant about 6/7 times throughout the last 12 months. We live in Essex but are originally from Sunderland.
We had tried several restaurants during our frequent trips and although all good none were exceptional.
Then we discovered Romanos in the main street in Cleadon just a few miles outside Sunderland. It is fantastic. The decor is great the food exceptional. We are always greeted with a friendly greeting.

The pasta dishes are to die for... my wife loves the king prawns with sun dried tomatoes.

I usually have a pasta starter followed by either the steak or the belly pork. Washed down with a nice bottle of wine.

My advice is try out this place the food and prices won't disappoint.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    32
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great food. not cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

we went to romanos on a saturday afternoon. it was pretty quiet, we were seated straight away. the waiter was very attentive. we ordered drinks and food. our starters were fantastic, we were then given ample time between our starters and mains instead of been rushed out. could not fault the food or service. the problem was the bill. it was very expensive. especially for an afternoon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grantmarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have lived a within short distance of the restaurant for the past 12 years tonight I asked myself why have we only frequented only 4 times in that period. Why indeed I have no idea. We had been initially concerned that the only booking time we could obtain was 9pm we need not have worried the ambiance and the atmosphere was still very much alive and the staff very welcoming on arrival even though the place was very busy. Nothing appeared to be to much trouble for the attentive waiting staff and the food was amazing, The choice on the menu is a bit daunting at first as it is so vast I was very surprised to see that even at a late hour everything was still available on the menu well done Romano’s. We had an amazing night an have vowed to make this a regular visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We dined here on a Wednesday night, restuarant was just over half full.

Waited 30 minutes for drink and food order to be taken, a further 15 minutes before telling a passing waiter we had been waiting for our drinks, he returned with our wine. After an hour of being at the restuarant the initial waiter arrived with our drinks order only to realise someone had beaten him to it, no apology.

Following a wait for our starter, it arrived hot and both orders were delicious. The mains followed quickly and again were full of favour.

Overall food was lovely but the slow service from our designated waiter ruined the meal due the frustration of our wait and no recognition for this. Would not return in a hurry, especially as we paid £60 for 2 courses and wine, you should be able to expect a good quality service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Been to Romanos on several occasions now and the meal has always been superb, the staff and manager are very helpful and very friendly, overall a very pleasing experience would highly recomend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Romano also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Bistro Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing