We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cantonese Banquet”
Review of Paradise Garden

Paradise Garden
Ranked #89 of 425 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely Cantonese Banquet”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was a special night with a special friends. We chose the banquet for four people because we like to have a variety of tastes. It was really very nice and we all ate with chopsticks apart from my husband who just couldn't manage them. The restaurant was quite busy but the staff are very organized and observant and ready to serve the next course and just keep the table going. I liked the lazy Susan idea as well. All in all a very relaxing meal out in a lovely restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    15
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North East UK
Level Contributor
164 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Back For More”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

After our first visit a couple of months ago, we came back for lunch bringing our two young children with us. Another fantastic meal, served by very friendly and helpful staff.

We enjoyed a variety of starters which the kids loved, well cooked and presented and gorgeous main meals - generous portions, we couldn't finish it all! We had a lovely time, the restaurant was quite busy being a Friday lunchtime which says a lot about how good it is. Local people flock here for great tasting, freshly cooked food. We wouldn't go anywhere else now, as yes, it isn't a 'flashy' place - but, boy is the food good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pidge_Pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs refurb”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This establishment been open for years. Food is ok. Service ok. Could do with redecoration. Looking tired

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times food is lovely there was nothing I could fault, great staff and great food will be returning

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemmapatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Favourite”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I visited this restaurant yesterday to celebrate my dad's birthday. We came for the £8:00 for 3 courses lunchtime special.
Greeted by the ever-friendly staff, we were shown to our table. Soup or fruit juice to start, followed by about 20 different mains and then pineapple fritter/ice cream or coffee for afters.
I chose the chicken and sweetcorn soup, absolutely lovely, didn't need to season it, then came the king prawn curry with onions - have to say, I love this dish and it never lets me down, big, juicy, plump prawns, and for dessert, I had the pineapple fritter, which was crispy and delicious. My dad had the chicken chow mein dish and he said that he thoroughly enjoyed it, the chicken was very tender.
We love this restaurant and over the years have used it on many different family occasions. I would say that the decor maybe needs a refresh but I would gladly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linden41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Garden also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Paradise Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing