We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sunderland
Post
Inbox
Search

“Tough 'Rib-eye' Steak”

Miller & Carter Steakhouse
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #26 of 533 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ordered a 16oz ribeye steak, it came out and looked like a rump. Had no fat on it no cap. Asked at the end of the meal and the chef assured me it was rib-eye but i highly doubt it. For the £30 they charge for the steak you don't expect a tough steak whatever cut it is.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 400owaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi 400owaint, we are disappointed to learn of your experience here at Miller & Carter Sunderland, if you would like to contact us directly at sunderland@millerandcarter.co.uk we can try and assist you further.
Kind Regards,
Miller and Carter Sunderland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a meal at Xmas. Really lovey setting. All staff were really helpful and you get great service. The food is amazing as always. Some of the best steaks I have eaten. Drinks were lovely. I have mobility issues but there is disabled parking right outside with no steps to get in or inside the restaurant. We got sat near the entrance which was great for me as there are a lot of tables to walk round if you sit further in.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank wilky002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wilky002, your wonderful feedback, and rating mean a lot to us. We're so pleased you had such a fantastic experience with us, and we made your visit as comfortable as possible for you. Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. If you have further needs or questions, please reach out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited on Sunday with my husband after having wanting to visit for some time now and having heard such good things from my partner on the occasions he’d visited.

We pre-booked a table and took advantage of their ‘January Rare Menu’ at a cost of £20.95 for three course which we thought very reasonable and fair.

On arrival we were immediately greeted and shown to a reserved table. We arrived a considerable amount of time before our booking on the off chance they could seat us earlier and there were no problems doing so.

The table was set very nicely and we were provided with sufficient menus. The décor of the restaurant is just lovely and very fitting to the establishment with a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Our drinks order was taken whilst we pondered the food menus.

The selection of dishes available on the set menu was very generous with a wide range of offerings. I opted for nachos followed by steak with a mustard and bacon lettuce wedge in beef dripping sauce. My husband chose cheddar mushrooms with bread, steak with a blue cheese lettuce wedge in a peppercorn sauce followed by sticky toffee pudding.

The food was incredible. Absolutely faultless and out of this world. I know understand why people rave about this place so much! Beautifully presented and well cooked. Even the lettuce wedge and onion loaf were stunning. The portion sizes were very generous and we were left feeling very full. It was a struggle to eat it all but too good to leave. The wait time was just perfect and we were neither rushed nor left waiting too long. Drinks prices seemed fairly reasonable and we took advantage of the half price cocktails which were available until 7pm.

The staff were very pleasant, attentive and accommodating and added to the experience. Will 100% be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmyMarieMoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Amymariemoody, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Miller & Carter Sunderland! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. It's great to hear your first visit with us did not dissapoint, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have visited here twice in the last month. The first time was with another couple for a meal at night and again by ourselves for a lunchtime meal. We enjoyed both meals thoroughly, the lunchtime meal was great value with their three course meal deal. Some of the cocktails were also £3 off before 5pm.
They also do a good pint of chieftain. Clean plates each time, we left nothing. Cant wait to go again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank devonladshieldslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Had an amazing experience here with family for a relatives birthday, steak was really good, everyone enjoyed it thoroughly. Mushrooms were amazing. It was very expensive but fairly priced for what you get. I'd definitely recommend the beef dripping sauce. Amazing.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank db90x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Db90x, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at Miller & Carter Sunderland. Our beef dripping is our most popular sauce on the menu, and are so pleased you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller & Carter Steakhouse also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Miller & Carter Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing