We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pascal and staff always make visiting this restaurant fabulous !”
Review of mamma italia

mamma italia
Ranked #24 of 425 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Pascal and staff always make visiting this restaurant fabulous !”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Food - excellent
Service - fabulously Italian
Ambiance - excellent
Staff - can't do enough for you
Drinks selection - great
Surroundings - just been refurbished, very contemporary

Verdict - it's ok I suppose :) going back next week (for about the 27th time) just to check

P.S ask Pasci for some places to visit in Italy - he knows his stuff !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    44
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
510 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited with family, 17 of us in total, couldn't get into the restaurant (booked in advance) so were seated in the Brasserie which was lovely, everything unrushed and staff were incredibly attentive, considering the number of covers, the starters arrived promptly, well presented and very hot, there was everything to cater for the fussiest of diners from garlic bread to calamari, mushrooms in garlic and bruschetta. The main courses arrived with the same swiftness and were just as appetising. All in all we had a very enjoyable experience and won't hesitate to go back should the opportunity arise, the only change I would suggest is they itemise the bill, ours came to over £300 with drinks and as we were there at happy hour (4-7pm), had no way of knowing whether the discount was applied. Great venue and often confused with Amore at Asbrooke rugby club, which is a shame, as this is far better value for money!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It just gets better”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited again last night and although it was really busy the fabulous staff managed to fit us in. The whole place has just been refurbished & it looks great. The food was delicious, as always & the service was top notch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlemissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It was packed last night ! - again !!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We took our daughter and her husband for his 50th. birthday treat before they went off on holiday and we all agreed it was a fantastic meal. Our other daughter was also with us and commented on how friendly the staff were and how fab the food was. Congratulations yet again to all the staff and especially the chef !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“This place just gets better and better!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Another exceptional meal last evening.....just my wife and I on this occasion, but, as always, the food was wonderful - authentic, unpretentious and scrumptious! The staff too were faultless - as charming and courteous as ever (they have a clever knack of making all guests feel special and most welcome....a most heartening aspect of their craft!). Thanks again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennymenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mamma italia also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to mamma italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing