We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has everything - great place, great food, great wine.”
Review of Casa das Pipas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa das Pipas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabrosa
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Has everything - great place, great food, great wine.”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

A very comfortable Casa (mansion house) on the Quinta do Portal estate. The house is traditional and very well appointed, with swimming pool, wifi, self service wine bar, and lots of spaces to rest in. The rooms were excellent, with our only minor gripe being that the bed was very hard! The restaurant was a 5 minute walk, and served a wonderful meal (fixed, but they would change if you asked) with a seemingly unlimited range ( and quantity) of wines included in the 30euro price! This was GOOD value! The winery is well worth a visit, being large and very modern. The visit was well conducted, and included wine tasting, of course. A really nice place that we can completely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianandKateShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    18
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
44
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This place is just splendid! The location is absolutely beautiful, the hotel and rooms outstanding and the staff incredible. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trustinsebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Casa das Pipas (on the Quinta do Portal Estate) isn't exactly easy to find but it's well worth the trip. Set right on the top of the hill in the famous Douro valley, the estate contains it's own winery (and tasting rooms - hurrah!), restaurant and two private houses that have been beautifully converted into guest houses. More like a five star private house than a B&B, the outside area for guests consists of a very large patio area with a pool, various shaded reading spots and a track that takes you for a walk around the vineyards themselves. We ate at the restaurant the first night and took them up on th set menu (€30). Anyone who does otherwise is mad, their young chef is a culinary genius and the (included in price) house wines, ports and muscatels match the food perfectly. Mr Lisbonite and I were also pleased at the way that the meal opened with the house olive oil. Service is efficient and extrememly friendly: hotel manager Patricia and her staff couldn't do enough for us (Patricia even drove twenty minutes to find us when we got lost). Breakfast was varied and fresh (try the omlette) and lunch was served by the pool. We were lucky enough to have the whole place to ourselves that weekend and felt utterly spoilt as we sat reading on the terrace, looking out over the vineyards that had produced the bottle we were drinking and listening to the sound of the local choir singing in the nearby church as it wafted towards us on the breeze. The winery tour was informative and friendly (again, we were the only ones there) and we're already booking a return trip in September and thinking about New Year. Until then, the memory of sitting out under the amazingly bright stars on our private balcony with a bottle of wine will have to sustain us. A couple of tiny comments on things that might be improved: there were a few ants in our bathroom although we're inclined to think that they might be par for the course in any vineyard hotel. Also, the WiFi really only works in the main communal rooms in the hotel rather than the bedrooms or on the patios. Finally, we couldn't believe how difficult it was to spend money in the winery. We wanted to buy about €400 of wine and have it shipped back to the UK and it was only after an hour's negotiating that we managed to get people to agree to get quotes for us. I can't believe we're the only ones that want to buy large amounts during the visit - perhaps this could be addressed? That said, I want to emphasise again how wonderful our stay was. This hotel is going to be hard to beat!

Room Tip: Ask for the Muscatel room: the view is divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLisbonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

A modernised vineyard in the Douro valley with a large tasting area, excellent restaurant and very comfortable accommodation all widely spaced out across the site.
Casa das Pipas is based on the original farmhouse but tastefully converted into a 10 room boutique hotel with swimming pool and lots of areas to relax.
The restaurant is about a half a mile walk through the vineyard and allows a spectacular view of the sunset over the Douro valley. The food and service were excellent and the accompanying huge reds included in the price of the meal. A continental breakfast is provided in the hotel.
The hospitality was also extremely welcoming, as an example we arrived early for dinner due to our failure to grasp the Spain/Portugal time difference and rather than being turned away were left to watch the sunset with a complimentary bottle of iced muscat.
We were travelling on motorcycles and there is secure off road parking on the site.
The only really problem was finding the place, the website directions are poor, sat nav coordinates would be really useful (Turn in by the Quinta do Portal sign!).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodgykipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allschwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

A marvelous setting in those lovingly cultured vineyards of the Douro region. We enjoyed a warm hospitality and excellent food and wines. And the charming waitress doesn't sell you a bottle of this or that, but offers you the appropriate wine for each course by the glass, or several glasses, to your heart's content. Last but not least: The wines of the Quinta do Portal are from among the best we tasted in Northern Portugal.
The Casa das Pipas is also an excellent starting point for exciting sightseeing trips: Pinhão, a liitle town located directly on the river Douro with the most beautiful azulejos on the station biuilding, the many small villages glued to the hills and connected by frighteningly small serpentine roads, a trip on the river with one of the sightseeing boats, just to mention a few. Summing up: We wait for the chance to revisit this beautiful place. - Peter Mathys and Jolanta

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMathys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

we stayed here for 2 nights - the superior rooms are wonderfull with view over the vineyard and region. Bed and bathroom are perfect.
Do not forget to vist the wine and porto production unit and the the degustation room.

The food in the restaurant is excellent and you can taste the wines and ports from the quinta.
Nice swimming pool and terrace...This was really a perfect stay....Manuel is always ready to assist you and answer your questions.
The region (douro and vineyards) was one of the nicest places we ever visited. This is in my opinion one of the most potential touristic areas of europe. Don't wait to long to visit, I am sure that the price/quality standard is still very high....
From the hotel you can walk trough the vineyards to the little traditional but authentic village.
"***vaut le détour"

willy timmermans

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozeftt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabrosa
3.8 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
5.6 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
267 reviews
3.4 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
24.9 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
410 reviews
13.1 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Pipas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Pipas

Property: Casa das Pipas
Address: EN 323 Celeiros-Pinhao-Sabrosa road | Quinta do Portal vineyard, Sabrosa 5060-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Sabrosa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabrosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa das Pipas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Casa das Pipas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing